Firstlife: 2.5 out of 5 stars

I received this book for free through NetGalley

I originally gave this 3 out of 5 stars but on reflection, this is being dropped to 2.5

37 Reasons Nick Miller Is The Perfect Crush

synopsis_resize

Step one…you die.

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

review_resize

Doesn’t that just sound like such a cool premise for a book?

After reading that, I had all these ideas in my mind as to what this book was all about and I think I unintentionally built this up so much that it couldn’t meet my own stupid expectations.

I really struggled to get into this, not because the writing is bad, but because it seemed too complicated from the outset. There wasn’t any real character development throughout which is a shame because I think it would have lifted the book quite a bit.

I will say that the world building is great and there is some vivid imagery however as a whole, I didn’t find the connection I need to enjoy this book.

I’ve heard that Gena Showalter’s other books are amazing so I might check those out rather than continue on with this series.

LINKS_RESIZE

Read more reviews on Goodreads

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

Leave a Reply

