City of Bones: 4 out of 5 stars

The Mortal Instruments book 1

**Contains minor spoilers – read with caution**

Now I understand why everyone was raving about The Mortal Instruments for so long – I’m hooked!

synopsis_resize

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons–and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line.

review_resize

I will admit that I was a bad book lover and only started reading this after watching a few episodes of Shadowhunters, but I’ve fallen in love with the series and I’m here to stay.

EVERYONE IS SO ATTRACTIVE! Clary, Jace, Alec, Isabelle, Simon, Magnus, Luke…the list goes on – all of them are sexy as hell, but that’s not all. What I really enjoy about this series is that the woman are given equal opportunity to be badass and Cassandra Clare made sure not to make her characters one note so there is great development throughout. I am really looking forward to seeing how the little seeds that were planted grow.

SO MUCH WIT! There is nothing I love more than an egotistical guy sharing great banter with, well everyone. Jace is such a fantastic character and he lightens the mood at the worst times by casually mentioning how attractive everyone thinks he is – which isn’t a lie. To add on to that, there is the lovable Simon who brings his nerdy sense of humour and caring nature to every situation. Special mention goes out to the sassiest characters of all – Magnus and the Lightwoods.

CAN I GET AN AMEN to those plot twists? Watching the show did manage to spoil some plot points for me however there was so much I didn’t see coming. I know the book didn’t end on a cliffhanger per se, but there are so many questions I have now that I am jumping right into the second book.

Final note: Alec & Simon are my new book boyfriends no matter what anyone says.

Find more reviews on Goodreads and I definitely recommend this if you love a great combination of:

  • Sexy badass warriors
  • Paranormal romance
  • Sci-fi
  • Mystery

Now also a hit TV show on Netflix and Freeform.

LINKS_RESIZE

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

One thought on “City of Bones: 4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

