Instructions for the End of the World: 2.5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book for free through NetGalley

synopsis_resize

He prepared their family for every natural disaster known to man—except for the one that struck.

When Nicole Reed’s father forces her family to move to a remote area of the Sierra Foothills, one without any modern conveniences, it’s too much too handle for her mother, who abandons them in the middle of the night. Heading out to track her down, Nicole’s father leaves her in charge of taking care of the house and her younger sister, Izzy. For a while, Nicole is doing just fine running things on her own. But then the food begins to run out, the pipes crack, and forest fires start slowly inching their way closer every day.

review_resize

I really wanted to like this so much more than I did – the cover is dope and the plot sounded really interesting but unfortunately the story fell flat. I’ve seen a few reviews mention this and I think the same thing happened to me where I didn’t really understand what this book was about and therefore my expectations were never met.

This is a bit of an emotional roller coaster with lots of drama and some bland characters – though special mention goes to Wolf who bought the atmosphere way up for me. I wouldn’t say don’t read, just that you might not want to have any expectations going in to it

LINKS_RESIZE

If this sounds like a book you’d enjoy, find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

Leave a Reply

