The Maze Runner: 5 out of 5 stars

The Maze Runner series book 1

**Contains minor spoilers – read with caution**

 This was just brilliant – I was a little skeptical about how a story about kids stuck in a maze would hold my attention but I am happy to say that I was hooked from start to end.

synopsis_resize

When the doors of the lift crank open, the only thing Thomas remembers is his first name. But he’s not alone. He’s surrounded by boys who welcome him to the Glade – a walled encampment at the centre of a bizarre and terrible stone maze. Like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they came to be there – or what’s happened to the world outside.

review_resize

I love all the characters in the maze – everyone served the story and I think the way they put systems in place to survive the maze was amazing…given they are kids after all. The idea that a new boy – and it is always a boy – shows up once a month without explanation is really intriguing but it was the addition of the only girl and a note saying that she was going to be the last that really set the mystery in motion.

Thomas was such a great character but the only issue I had with him was how confident he was from the beginning. I mean if I had lost my memory, woken up in a strange maze where freaky animatronic monsters could kill me, I don’t think I would be so gung ho about life.

His strength and determination comes from his curiosity as to why they are all there and as a problem solver, his natural urge to solve the puzzle takes precedence. When the girl starts saying his name and it becomes clear that the two must know each other from the outside world, things take a turn for everyone in the maze.

What I really enjoyed about this book is how much the kids have created their own little society: from assigning jobs, to gathering food and their own slang, everything in this book felt original.

I will say that it became a little frustrating that no one really explained anything – and I mean anything  – right until the very end when the book closed on a cliffhanger.

I really recommend this and as a fan of Dylan O’Brien, I definitely recommend the movie. In saying that, I would read the book first because there are a lot of key elements in the book that are left out of the movie.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon Kindle

Book Depository

Image source: digitalspy.com

Leave a Reply

