City of Fallen Angels: 4 out of 5 stars

The Mortal Instruments book 4

**Contains spoilers – read with caution**

What. Just. Happened?

This should be called Simon’s a badass vampire, now what? because damn, that boy has to make some tough calls in this book.

synopsis_resize

Simon, Daylighter vampire teen is protected by the Mark of Cain, a pillar of fire from Heaven blazes attackers into salt, but an enemy gets at him through his first love Clary, who must face consequences, and maybe lose Jace. A Greater Demon infects nights of her Shadowhunter beloved for control, and sends grey-garbed minions for Simon himself.

review_resize

I just want to start by saying that I totally get why people loved this as a trilogy, but if I’m honest, I’m so glad there is another journey for these characters because I love them so.

City of Fallen Angels is jam packed with so many awesome Simon moments and it was a nice change of pace from the previous focus on Clary and Jace. Now tatted up with the Mark of Cain, Simon is basically indestructible – something that comes with it’s own consequences. We quickly learn that if anyone tries to attack him, they very painfully self destruct leaving behind only a pile of salt like substance. Shit sounds like the worst way to go!

I really enjoyed Simon’s character development in this book. We get to see him fall from grace when he indulges in his vampire urges and also find solace in the warmth of a new character – it was great to see Simon take charge on his own without Clary.

That sexy vampire mojo is also in full swing in this book with Simon having returned from Idris with two ladies: Maia and Izzy (team Sizzy over here!). Speaking of Maia, I love that they introduced Jorden into this book after mentioning him briefly in the past. He’s a really lighthearted and interesting character and even though I love Maia, I found it really hard to dislike him.

Let’s talk about the star couple, Malec! The cute, the romantic, the funny and the sad all work there way into this book. From questions about mortality to past lovers and some sassy quips from Alec, I loved every scene with them in it. It’s also really nice to see two of my favourite guys parading their romance around the world.

I spent a little while trying to figure out who the big bad was and was pleased to find out it was quite literally THE BIG BAD! I’ve read and watched a lot of Lilith stories unfold and this is up there with one of the better ones for me. She truly is diabolical and her ruthlessness is unparalleled. I have to say though, you have to give Lilith mad props for surviving all those years, I mean, I can’t imagine the wrath of God is an easy thing to shake.

The cocky Jace we’ve all come to know and love is struggling with some demons of his own thanks to the lovely Lilith infiltrating his dreams and manipulating his worst fears – which of course involve him killing Clary. I felt really sorry for Jace and loved that in an effort to avoid Clary, he started hanging out with Simon. I love the banter between those two and I would definitely watch them in a buddy cop film any day.

The ending unfolded how I thought it would once the presence of Sebastian was revealed but still, that cliffhanger ending makes me really excited for the next book.

City of Lost Souls, I’m coming for you!

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

Leave a Reply

