The Ocean at the End of the Lane: 5 out of 5 stars

Confession: I’ve read this twice and even though I love this book, I still have no idea what it is about.

Also, how gorgeous is this cover!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is just as hauntingly beautiful as its cover.

synopsis_resize

Sussex, England. A middle-aged man returns to his childhood home to attend a funeral. Although the house he lived in is long gone, he is drawn to the farm at the end of the road, where, when he was seven, he encountered a most remarkable girl, Lettie Hempstock, and her mother and grandmother. He hasn’t thought of Lettie in decades, and yet as he sits by the pond (a pond that she’d claimed was an ocean) behind the ramshackle old farmhouse, the unremembered past comes flooding back. And it is a past too strange, too frightening, too dangerous to have happened to anyone, let alone a small boy.

review_resize

It’s really difficult to explain what happens in this book as every action, every thought and every memory is wildly mythical. Our main character is never named (I missed his name if it was mentioned) and on returning home, he begins to relive some his memories from when he was seven years old: a girl named Lettie, her mother and grandmother, demons, magical powers and more.

“I went away in my head, into a book. That was where I went whenever real life was too hard or too inflexible.”

This book is definitely layered with creepy moments and because the book is so brilliantly written, you are constantly on the edge of your seat waiting to see what twist and turn is about to pop up on the next page. I have to say that I wish this book was longer because it would’ve been nice to live in this world and go on more adventures with Lettie.

While it is hard to give a coherent review on this book because I personally wasn’t too sure what was happening from moment to the next, this was my first Gaiman and I can safely say that if his writing is this captivating in his other books, I will certainly be reading more of his work.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

Leave a Reply

