A Court of Mist and Fury: 10 out of 5 stars

23766623A Court of Thorn and Roses book 2

**So. Many. Spoilers. – read with caution**

That rating isn’t a typo, there aren’t just enough stars in the universe to rate this book!

FOR LOVE SHE CHEATED DEATH.

FOR HER WORLD SHE WILL BECOME A WEAPON.

synopsis_resize

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

review_resize

I was lucky enough to meet Sarah J. Maas last year when she came to New Zealand (yay, someone visited us!) and I think seeing/chatting with her completely changed the way I read this book. It was like I could feel her heart and soul poured into every page.

Too many thoughts and feelings, but here are a few:

* #teamrhysand from ACOTAR right until the very end
* Feyre and her many titles…especially the last!
* Tamlin can go get fucked
* Sweet Lucien, I’m still rooting for you
* Mor, Cassien, Azriel, Amren…can we have dinner or something? Let me join your family!
* Bless Nesta and Elain – shits gon’ get real in the next book
* So much drama and corruption – I loved every devious twist and turn
* Insane character development
* Vivid world building that blew my mind
* The Night Court
* Um, all of those hot scenes…you know you loved them too!
* The gorgeous note writing
* “Then I would have torn apart the world to get you back.”

“I was the butcher of innocents, and the savior of a land.”

What I adore about Maas is that from the very first sentence in any of her books, you find yourself in awe of how so few words can make your imagination explode in the most vivid ways; this was no different. I was thoroughly captivated from start to end and there wasn’t any moment in between where I found myself skimming to get to the next chapter. I was like an addict desperately needing another fix of this wholly divine world.

“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison”

Oh Tamlin. So I will acknowledge that yes I was a major Tamlin supporter in the first book. He was nice, he made Feyre’s spirit soar, he seemed like he could be really good to her…and then this book happened. At the start of this book, we join Feyre back in the Spring Court with Tamlin – who is actually a dick – and while it seems at first that she might be happy with him, it becomes a clear very quickly that she is wasting away. Tamlin slowly starts taking away her freedom and his overbearing personality becomes too much to handle, so much so she abandons their plans for a wedding and escapes with the help of Rhysand – who she still hates at that point. I was happy to see that Feyre didn’t return to him in her weakened state of mind and instead put her own well being first for once. You go girl!

“Feyre Cursebreaker, the Defender of the Rainbow.”

After being turned into a High Fae by the High Lords of the seven courts after that nasty bitch Amarantha killed her in ACOTAR, Feyre is now dealing with the aftermath; namely figuring out what she is and what she can do. In ACOTAR, I found myself frustrated with Feyre every other chapter for reasons that escape me now, but I can’t deny that as a sister, a friend, a lover, a warrior and a High Fae, her character overhaul is one of the most magnificent things I’ve ever read.

“You are my salvation, Feyre”

#teamrhysand

By now we’ve all read numerous books with amazing couples who eventually become your #otp or have a swoon worthy reformed bad boy who earns the rank of book boyfriend material simply by being hot and subtly sweet. While this book has both of these things and then some, it is rare for me to find a couple who I feel are equals in heart and mind…Feyre and Rhys definitely have these qualities and I’ve officially built them a cabin in my soul.

“You are good Rhys. You are kind. This mask does not scare me. I see you beneath it.”

My top 3 things I love about this pair:

*Strength: I don’t just mean physical strength. Rhys has always put on a spectacular show and my god Feyre and her new found gifts were incredibly cool, but what I really mean is their willingness to allow the other to push through their walls. Watching these two be vulnerable with each other added a level of depth that pulled at my heartstrings in a way I could never have anticipated. I always enjoy backstories and Rhys had an incredibly sad and powerful journey leading up to his encounter with Feyre all those months before. I loved their discussions about family, about honour and their mutual appreciation for how broken they both are.

*Wit: Can the banter between these two be any better? I found myself laughing out loud a few times at how ridiculous they both could be but it was also nice to see them comfort each other in their own way. Those fucking notes they would write each other got me every time. Letter writing wouldn’t be a dying art if Rhys was writing to you, just saying!

*Bond: As reviews have been rolling in, I’ve spotted a few mentions about how the bond is anti-feminist and on reflection, I certainly see how it can be construed that way. Sometimes however, I think you have to let a book be a book, just as I think you have to let this bond be a bond just as it is intended to be in the context of the story. I personally really enjoyed this little link between my two faves. It certainly made things interesting when the two were getting to know each other on a personal level (especially all those dirty thoughts) and I thought it was a fantastic way to hide the revelation that these two are mates…as in soulmates. Woop woop! Cue some super hot sex scenes and poetic inner monologues. Take that Tamlin you opportunistic bastard.

“Welcome to the family Feyre.”

Outside of the romance, which I’m happy to report does not involve a love triangle, there is another type of love…that of family.

First off, we are drawn back to Feyre’s sisters Nesta and Elain whom I had mixed feelings about originally but whose presence made this a more enjoyable adventure. Through a series of unfortunate events, the end of the book sees the girls turned into High Fae thanks to an egotistical baddy; much to the anguish of Feyre, her new family and the girls themselves. This is a really interesting turn of events that is going to make the next book one hell of an adventure. I can already tell that Nesta as a Fae is going to fuck shit up! Also not so secretly excited to see how the girls being Fae is going to affect the dynamic of Feyre and her Night Court family.

While I certainly loved the reintroduction of the sisters, it was the second family I fell wholeheartedly in love with; Rhys’ family and inner circle. I just want to hang out with them at a bonfire where we’d drink beer and watch the stars. They were the best addition to this world.

*Morrigan:  aka Mor quickly became my favourite character. She is a feisty, beautiful beast who appears to be a delicate flower but shatters this illusion easily and dominates any room she walks into. She is Rhys’ cousin and her relationship with Feyre reached #sqaudgoals level for me. Mor has a horrible backstory thanks to her asshole of a family and unlike some of the other characters in this book, I felt like she wore her scars loud and proud. You do the damn thing girl!

*Cassien: The most lethal warrior you will ever meet, seriously! Anytime Cassien went to battle I immediately felt bad for anyone on the receiving end because he could tear you apart with just a look. He ends up training Feyre to be a warrior and their relationship is one I hadn’t expected to evolve so flawlessly.

*Azriel: Oh sweet, quiet Azriel. He doesn’t say much throughout this book and there are constant references to him lurking in the shadows but I no doubt feel that he is a force to be reckoned with. A champion warrior like Cassien, his scars – mental and physical – made him a more well rounded character. His love for Mor was also super adorbs!

*Amren: Yeah, I don’t want to meet her in a dark alley. Amren is as mysterious as they come and we find out relatively early that she is half Fae and half something else – just like Feyre. Can’t wait to see what she gets up to in the final book and see if she ever make is home. I desperately hope she stays with the crew.

Everything goes nuts in the last 100 pages and even though I’ve spoiled some things, I feel like there are a few key tidbits that are better left read in the way Mass intends them to be read. Let’s just say that book three is going to be an insane adventure and I suspect quite literally a bloody mess. Secrets will be revealed, hearts will be broken, war will rage on and my new fave crew will be dragged through hell and back. Keeping my fingers and toes crossed that they all survive – don’t pull the rug out from under me Maas!

What I’m curious about though is will Tamlin get a redemption story? Because right now I wouldn’t care if he was wiped out in the first chapter of the next book.

I’m loving reading all the reviews on Goodreads just so I can dive back into the world a little each time. I miss Rhys and Feyre already.

At the end of the book, there is a snippet for book three, AND I’M ALL IN!

HEARTS HAVE BEEN HEALED.

POWER GAMES HAVE BEGUN.

WAR IS UPON THEM.

LINKS_RESIZE

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

34 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury: 10 out of 5 stars

  1. The Not So Secret Life Of A Fan Girl says:

    Haha, I think I just fell in love with your reviews at first sight. All dem F-bombs yo!
    I’m always so cautious about swearing and omit them for words like “fudge” or “flip” when in reality, I’ve got the mouth of a sailor!
    Two very enthusiastic thumbs up! Fine holiday fun.
    And I need to stop reading ACOMAF reviews, I have it sitting ready on Audible waiting until I finish Queen Of Shadows and I don’t think I can wait any more!

    Like

  2. abookishbelle says:

    GIRL I COULDNT READ THIS REVIEW WITHOUT SWEATING/BREAKING INTO FULL ON PANIC MODE. All I have to say is 20 days until ACOWAR release. I AM NOT READY. I REPEAT I AM NOT READY. I’m so glad you loved it, welcome to the trashcan my friend, can’t wait to see how many times you reread this beauty ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

