Truthwitch: 2.5 out of 5 stars

The Witchlands book 1

**Contains minor spoilers – read with caution**

This cover slays…unfortunately the story did not.

synopsis_resize

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home. Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

review_resize

Did not finish @ 43%

When one of your favourite authors recommends a book, you pick it up. When your friends on Goodreads start raving about a book, you give it a go. When booktubers you use for recommendations tell you a book is amazing, you add it to your TBR. Unfortunately, I let myself fall into another ‘hyped up book’ trap and the Truthwitch is hitting the DNF shelf.

“I’ll always follow you, Safi, and you’ll always follow me. Threadsisters to the end.”

Can I just say that if I ever hear the phrase ‘chiseled cheater’ again, I’m going to self destruct. I never knew two words could create a fiery rage in me, but after hearing it repeated what seemed like 1,000 times within the first 50 pages, I nearly pelted my Kindle at the guy in front of me on the train.

Overall, the writing in itself is compelling enough for a YA fantasy and I loved the Thelma and Louise-esque adventure the characters were embarking on but the magic was quickly lost and Safiya and Iseult became too one-dimensional and boring.

There were some creepy as fuck moments in what I read which definitely added some spice but these were too far and few between to really make an impact on the story or on me. I would’ve really preferred if the story remained focused on the friendship between Safiya and Iseult because as a duo they were really strong and complemented each other rather nicely, but the minute things veered off into the ever popular instalove zone, I knew it was over for me.

As I didn’t finish the Truthwitch, I can’t really comment on the second half of the book so do let me know if that is where all the action happened. If the mood strikes I might try and pick it up again but for now, I won’t even pretend that I’m going to look at the sequel.

I suggest checking out some other reviews if this book sounds like your jam as there are definitely a lot of people who love it.

LINKS_RESIZE

Buy this book:

Amazon: Kindle

Book Depository

What did you think of the Truthwitch?

5 thoughts on “Truthwitch: 2.5 out of 5 stars

    • mrenee says:

      🙂 I definitely don’t want to put anyone off so you should give it a go when you’re ready. I think I picked it up too early into the hype zone which was part of the problem.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

