[T10T] Beach Reads

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new theme and you can participate when and if you choose. This week’s theme is Top Ten Beach Reads.

Summer is well and truly over in New Zealand and we are entering the dreary winter season, but I did read some great books at the beach this summer gone so let’s just jump on in.

1.png

  1. Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick: So far this has been one of my top reads for 2016. I am still so enamoured with the characters in this book and the strange journey they took together.
  2. Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan: I love a good prank so was super excited when I received an ARC through NetGalley. This had me laughing out loud at some of the antics and the imagination of these characters.
  3. When We Collided by Emery Lord: A strange girl and an ordinary boy. This was a beautiful tale of friendship, first love and personal struggles. Not what I would call a super light read but Vivi the main character is incredibly vibrant and lifts the story in bold ways.
  4. The Progeny by Tosca Lee: I’m still mad at the cliffhanger on this because I know I’ll be waiting a while for the next book. So fascinated by this story and by the way my own conspiracy theories weaved in and out the more I read. An edge of your seat psychological thriller.
  5. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: I Admittedly read this after Shadowhunters premiered on Netflix and I saw how sexy all the actors are. This blew me away and I don’t think I could’ve loved it anymore than I did.
  6. Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout: Daemon Black, I would read anything he was mentioned in. I absolutely adore the Lux series so I was eager to see how the story unfolded from the eyes of my main man Daemon.
  7. The Revolution of Ivy by Amy Engel: I was so excited when I realised this had been released. The first book has long been one of my favourite debuts and I just had to know what was happening after things turned to shit in The Book of Ivy.
  8. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (re-read): A great story about best friends, first loves and summer adventures. What more do you need in the summer?
  9. Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare (re-read): I like to pick up a Shakespeare play every summer – I don’t know why, but I’ve done it for years. Romeo & Juliet is still one of my all time faves and I love picturing Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes in the roles when I’m reading it.
  10. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (re-read): We’ve all had crazy crushes over the years and this is such a light-heart read that it makes the perfect summer companion.

Do you have a go to beach read?

 

3 thoughts on “[T10T] Beach Reads

  1. Carrianne says:

    I finally picked up the first book in the Lux series and I’m excited to find out what all the hub bub is about, lol.I honestly haven’t read anything on your list except for Romeo & Juliet, which I’ve read a million and one times thanks to school, haha.

    All of these seem like solid picks though and a few of them are already on my radar to pick up at some point. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Oh I hope you like it! I will say I had a little love/hate relationship with it in the beginning but there was no going back once I was hooked lol. I think I powered through them all in the span of 2 weeks I was addicted.

      Haha R&J is a school classic – plus that Leo movie is fantastic.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Travelling inside books says:

    Hi,
    I have just found your blog, and it’s pretty cool.
    I am trying to get a bigger number of followers, in order to write more posts.
    Would yo please check my blog and maybe follow me back?

    You can also check the awesome giveaway that I found (8YA SIGNED BOOKS+150$ AMAZON CARD) the link is in a post.
    thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

