[T5W] Book Theme Songs

topfive

Top Five Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly meme hosted by Thoughts On Tomes. Each week there is a new theme which you can find on the T5W Goodreads group. This week’s topic is book theme songs.

For my top 5, I’ve decided to go with songs I was listening to when I was reading 5 of my favourite books.

1 – Return of the Mack by Mark Morrison

I could dance to this song for hours. Okay maybe not hours, but I could dance to it a lot. I listened to this while reading A Gathering of Shadows. It really has no relevance to the book but because it was on repeat, it reminds me of the Essen Tasch games and all the epic magic.

2 – The End of the  Road by Boyz II Men

The Fault in Our Stars. Yup, I listened to this over and over again while I read it. I went through a little rewind phase and Boyz II Men hits were at the top of my list. Let’s just say the contrast between this song and the contents of the story made this a whole new reading experience.

3 – Lover Come Back by City and Colour

I’m still obsessed with this song – it is so calming. I first discovered this while I was reading Every Exquisite Thing and as such I can’t help but associate it with this book.

4 – Dancing On My Own by Robyn

This is one of my all time favourite songs and it was playing as I read one of my new all time favourite books – A Court of Mist and Fury. I can’t even count how many times I put this on repeat but I do know it largely played during  the second half of the book in a section where so much shit was going down

5 – Gold Digger (cover) by Xavier Dunn

This is such a great cover. I love it! This was playing while I read the penultimate scene in City of Heavenly Fire and for a while it will always be contributed to this book and the shadowhunter world.

What song most reminds you of a book?

 

Leave a Reply

