[Chat] I’m so excited: Upcoming Releases

TRAVEL (3)

I know that we’re nearly halfway through the year and people usually do their most anticipated releases at the beginning, but I didn’t have a blog then and there are still some great books that are yet to be released…so let’s rock this thing!

Technically I should order these by release date, but I’ve decided to pull this together based on what I’m most excited to read.

empire1.png

Empire of Storms – Throne of Glass book 5

Release date: September 6th

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

I’m one of many who waited anxiously for the cover reveal then had a minor freakout when I saw how glorious it is. These books are the highlight of my reading year and they always jump to the very top of my TBR – I’m talking pre-ordering it on Kindle and binge reading it. The USA/NZ time difference means it shows up at 5pm and I get some good reading hours in before the day is over but I am always so captivated by the story that I literally read it until my eyes close and my body wins the sleep deprivation battle. I need Rowan and Manon back in my life!

thissavage1

This Savage Song – Monsters of Verity book 1

Release date: June 7th – already released but still on the list

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. A young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake.

How beautifully haunting is that title? I’m a recent convert to the literary goddess that is Victoria Schwab and find that the adventures she takes you on are unparalleled. This seems a lot darker than the other books I’ve read of hers so I am really excited to see how her monsters play a part in this world. The characters sound like they are going to be really complex and ruthless – fingers crossed for no instalove. Hoping to find a new favourite series in this book.

strangethedreamer1

Strange the Dreamer – Strange the Dreamer book 1

Release date: September 27th

Strange the Dreamer is the story of:

The aftermath of a war between gods and men
A mysterious city stripped of its name
A mythic hero with blood on his hands
A young librarian with a singular dream
A girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
Alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

Confession: I’ve never read any of Laini Taylor’s books but I’ve heard amaaaaaazing things about her writing. The synopsis for this is so ominous and the cover so beautiful that I can’t help but be intrigued from the get go.

withmalice1.png

With Malice

Release date: June 9th – already released but still on the list

A read about a teenage girl who wakes up in a hospital bed and cannot remember the last six weeks of her life, including the accident that killed her best friend–only what if the accident wasn’t an accident?

I read a sample chapter of this book off NetGalley and holy shit this is going to be one interesting ride. This seems to have similar vibes to Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout and if it even has the tiniest hint of that atmosphere, I know I’m going to really enjoy this book. Unlike with most YA contemporary/thrillers, I’m hoping the big twist is subtle and there are a few WTF moments scattered throughout.

worldwithoutyou1.png

A World Without You

Release date: July 19th

Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can travel through time. When he was ten, Bo claimed to have witnessed the Titanic hit an iceberg, and at fifteen, he found himself on a Civil War battlefield, horrified by the bodies surrounding him. So when his concerned parents send him to a school for troubled youth, Bo assumes he knows the truth: that he’s actually attending Berkshire Academy, a school for kids who, like Bo, have “superpowers.”

This sounds like it is going to be a sad mind-fuck. I find the premise of this book unbelievably compelling and I can’t wait to dive into Bo’s psyche. The full synopsis says that he falls in love with a troubled girl named Sofia when he is at the school and after she commits suicide, he believes he is the only one who can save her from being trapped in another time. I just have so many questions: Can he time travel? Is it all in his head? Will Bo and Sofia be reunited in body, heart or mind? Do the other kids at this school have powers? Is this basically the Xavier School For Gifted Youngsters in X-Men? So. Many. Questions!

brightsmoke1.png

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire Untitled book 1

Release date: September 27th

When the mysterious fog of the Ruining crept over the world, the living died and the dead rose. Only the walled city of Viyara was left untouched. The heirs of the city’s most powerful—and warring—families, Mahyanai Romeo and Juliet Catresou share a love deeper than duty, honor, even life itself. But the magic laid on Juliet at birth compels her to punish the enemies of her clan—and Romeo has just killed her cousin Tybalt. Which means he must die.

This is a paranormal fantasy book that just so happens to be a retelling of Romeo & Juliet. What? Romeo & Juliet is one of my favourite Shakespeare plays so I am definitely pumped for this. I’m not entirely sure how well this is going to pan out but the full synopsis sounds like a magical adventure sure to satisfy this reader’s soul. I’m hoping this isn’t too true to the book because it would be nice if the main characters lived a little longer…just saying.

What upcoming releases are you most excited for?

 Main image source

13 thoughts on “[Chat] I’m so excited: Upcoming Releases

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Great list! I’m really, really excited for This Savage Song, Strange the Dreamer and With Malice! I have a copy of With Malice which hopefully I can read it soon. My most anticipated release is hands down Gemina though, haha. I’m dying for that book!

    Like

  2. LairOfBooks says:

    A World Without You sounds really interesting! I am super excited for Laini Taylo’rs new book, I read her Daughter Of Smoke & Bone series & loved it! I may just p/u With Malice today. I’m really looking forward to Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake, Marissa Mayer’s Heartless, and Arabella Of Mars by David D. Levine 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

