Book Tag: I Messed Up

TRAVEL (2)

Shout out to Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts for the tag nomination.

Lets dive in to my messed up book life.

The rules:

No rules per se but the idea of this tag is to note times you did something wrong or messed up when it comes to books and then tag a few people.

A Character’s Appearance You Misread or Imagined Differently

Question one and I’m already struggling – this tag might not go too well haha. If I rack my brain, the only thing that comes to mind is Katy on this cover. I wish I could remember how I thought she would look as I was reading book one but I do remember picking this up and thinking, um…who is that?

A Character Name You’ve Been Pronouncing Incorrectly

Hermione = Her-my-e-own

This is a flashback – I’m sure I was one of many who pronounced Hermione wrong for a long time. To be fair, I was a kid when the books were released so there were no movies to give context to the name. I don’t think there are any recently that have been as difficult as I found this one.

An Overused Trope That Is Your Guilty Pleasure 

The bad boy from the ‘wrong side of the tracks’ who is secretly nice/changes for a good girl. Chuck some tattoos in and I’m all over it no matter how shit the story is. I love a book with a bad boy and I swoon over the romances that ensue.

A Cliched Character Type You Enjoy Viewing On Screen Than Reading About

Maybe the jock? They always cast super hot actors to play the part but they are usually so macho and annoying in books that I end up passing over their description/good qualities. I’m sad/ashamed to admit that those ab shots help me like them more…yup.

A Word/Phrase You Learned Because of Its Use In A Book

I can’t remember where it was from now, but I had never heard the word surreptitiously until I read it in a book when I was about 16. I of course then proceeded to use it as much as I could in my school assignments for about a year.

Have You Ever Not Read or Completed a Required Reading Book For School

Not in high school in terms of assigned books such as The Catcher in the Rye or Romeo & Juliet but in University there were times I would skip boring, analytical chapters we were supposed to read and catch up using notes in class/tutorials.

Have You Ever (Or Wanted To) Skipped A Chapter From the POV of a Character You Weren’t Interested In

Of course, and at times I will skim through parts I’m not interested in, but I tend to be worried that I’ll miss something really important so try to stick it out.

Have You Ever Cancelled Social Plans To Read A Book

Admittedly when Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas was released I was so excited about it that I had to reschedule a group catch up so I could come home and binge read it. I wasn’t a dick though, I told them why – they laughed at me in true best friend style.

My nominees:

You know how I do it by now – if you’ve completed this tag or just don’t feel like it, throw it on the backburner and I won’t be offended.

The Page Turner

Fallinlovewiththesoundofwords

The Immortal Readers

Kourtni Reads

Genie Reads

THE MISSTERY

Bookwormgirls123

24 thoughts on “Book Tag: I Messed Up

  1. Donna says:

    I’m pretty sure Hermione is one of the most mispronounced names in all history, haha. I still can’t use the pronunciation from the movies. I was a kid when I started reading HP and I couldn’t read in English at the time so the French edition shaped my Wizard world. I’m forever stuck with my French her-mi-own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    This reminds me I still need to write my answers for this tag. I feel the same way about Katy. She was described as curvy in the book, which is not the case on the cover. Same thing with Daemon. The guy on the cover is almost the same height as the girl and Daemon is tall and muscular in the book. I love the bad boy trope. That’s my serious guilty pleasure. I was looking at my Kindle purchases the other day, thinking do I read anything else? lol. Hermione is a hard name to pronounce. I bet that’s a name that gets botched all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. bookwormgirls123 says:

    EEK! Thanks so much for the nomination! I will definitely get to this soon, as it looks really fun haha.
    Seriously though… The majority of my large vocabulary comes from books. Hence my occasional swearing because I have no idea what it means….
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

