If I Stay: 2 out of 5 stars

Am I the only one who didn’t like this?

synopsis_resize

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind? Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

review_resize

This nearly became a DNF but I decided to push through in the hopes I would find a better ending…unfortunately I didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, the book as a whole isn’t awful and I definitely see why so many people loved it, but for a story with such an unusual narrative, I think you need to make sure your main character is emotionally strong enough to take the reader on a journey.

“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.”

I really liked Mia’s family and their dynamic was brilliantly crafted – she grew up in a loving, laid back environment with her hippie parents that nurtured her passion for music. As a unit they are great, but Mia on her own is not an outstanding character for me. I did like her relationship with her best friend and her boyfriend and the way they rooted for her when others wanted to give up was admirable.

You can’t help but feel for her and empathise with the tough decision she has to make and I think the author did a great job of making you question what your own choice would be if you were in her situation – this was one redeeming quality about this book.

I don’t know what it is about Gayle Forman’s writing but I find her books to be a little contrived and boring. Maybe I’m just the wrong audience so as always, I implore you to  pick up one of her books and make your own decision.

Side note: As much as I didn’t enjoy the book, I enjoyed the movie even less – though I do love Chloe Grace Moretz.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Book Depository

Amazon

8 thoughts on “If I Stay: 2 out of 5 stars

  1. meganm922 says:

    I also did not like the book. I’m just not the right audience for a story like that, as I don’t believe in the plot and the author didn’t make a compelling story or argument to make me shed my normal beliefs. Also, I kind of think Adam was a bit of a tool, so I missed the whole love story side of it. I love the actress, too, so I also saw the movie.
    The best part (and only part I enjoyed) was the Smashing Pumpkins jam session.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ara | The Bookish Agenda says:

    I honestly don’t know if I should agree or not, haha. It has been years since I’ve read this book, and I can’t remember much about it now. Maybe that means I didn’t like it because it didn’t leave a mark on me or something like that?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

