[Award] The Liebster Award

TRAVEL (11).png

This one is going to be looooooooong guys. Grab a snack and settle in.

I was nominated by 3 amazing blogs for this award (thanks!!). Be sure to check out their blogs for some killer reviews and fun challenges.

Image from www.kirstiekinsblogs.co.uk

I just want to quickly say that this is a really cool award and it’s nice that we can all help each other be more involved in the blogging community.

Check out the 2016 Official Liebster Award rules for more logos and information.

The Rules:

1. Acknowledge the blog that nominated you and display the award.
2. Answer the 11 questions that the blog gives you.
3. Give 11 random facts about yourself.
4. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think are deserving of the award that have less than 200 followers.
5. Let the blogs know you have nominated them.
6. Give them 11 questions to answer.

I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to remove any double up questions and just answer them once so I’m not repeating myself and making this post any longer than it needs to be.

~~THE LITERARY LIONESS~~

Image from www.adashofsalter.com

Coke or Pepsi

Definitely Pepsi – Pepsi Max to be exact

What fantasy world would you want to live in?

That is super tough. I mean obviously we all want to go to Hogwarts, but I think I maybe want to live in Red London from A Gathering of Shadows – but only if I could do all the cool magical stuff. There is always a caveat.

Least favorite book character?

I wouldn’t say that this character is my least favourite of all time but it is certainly the top one that springs to mind – Iseult from the Truthwitch.

Ideal vacation spot?

Costa Rica or Italy – they are two places I would love to go and two really expensive places I can’t afford to get to.

One book you recommend to everyone?

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Most memorable book character?

Lou from Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. My review is coming out for this shortly and let me just say that there aren’t enough words to describe how much I adore her.

Most over-hyped book you’ve read?

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh – why is everyone losing their shit over this book?

Why did you start blogging?

I actually just answered this over on another post but basically I decided to start my blog because as much as I love Goodreads, there are some limited options as to what you can do.

What book got you hooked on reading?

My mum read to me constantly when I was little and it was because of her that I learnt to read at a very young age and have such an affinity for reading to this day. If I had to pick a book, I would say either Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling or the Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah.

Favorite movie?

It’s a tough one to narrow down, but I’m going to have to say Breakfast At Tiffany’s

Character you want to trade places with?

Any of the girls from the Sinful Serenade series. If you read any of my reviews for these books, you’ll know why #noshameinmygame

~~A THOUSAND LIVES~~

Image from 3and3quarters.net

Removed questions

  • How did you start your blog

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Reality TV. Yeah, I really do enjoy tuning out and watching something that is stimulating but you don’t actually have to concentrate on.

Hardback, paperback or ebook?

As nice as hardbacks look, I don’t enjoy reading from them. My preference would be paperback for reading, but ebook’s so my bank account doesn’t hate me.

What’s your favorite childhood movie?

I have 3 favourites that I watched on rotation, over and over again much to the chagrin of my parents.

  • The Little Mermaid
  • Camp Nowhere
  • The Baby Sitters Club

What books did you read when you were little?

Not that long ago I actually wrote a post about my favourite childhood books. My all time favourite read as a kid though is a little book called Jillian Jiggs by Phoebe Gilman.

Do you want to be an author?

I always liked the idea of being an author, but to be honest I don’t think I’m imaginative enough to come up with a good idea or patient enough to pull it together.

If you would have all the money in the world, what would you do with it?

I’ve always wanted to set up my own charity that helps the homeless and also helps provide more options for teaching adults to read and write. Apart from that, I would of course travel, buy a house and pay off my parents bills.

Are you an active person, or do you like to stay in and be lazy, or are you both?

There is nothing I love more after a long day at work than crawling up with a cup of tea and a good book in bed, but on the weekends I like to try and get out as much as I can. We have a lot of great bush walks and hiking areas in Auckland so we like to try and go for a good trek on the weekends – I’m not super fit so I want to die the whole time but it is so much fun and I love being out in nature.

Have you traveled outside your country? If yes, where? If no, where would you want to go?

Oh how I wish I’d travelled more. I’ve been to two places and I had the best time in both.

  • Thailand – Bangkok, Chang Mai, Ayutthaya
  • Hawaii – Waikiki/Honolulu

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I will be 37 by then and based on where I’m at now, I hope a lot happens in the next 10 years. It would be cool to be living overseas and working for a non-profit. Maybe be married and have some kids running wild. Really all I want is to be doing something with people who make me happy and living a soulful life.

What’s one thing in life you would never ever give up?

My family photos. Everything else is materialistic and replaceable but old photos aren’t something you can really get back once gone.

~~ THE IMMORTAL READERS ~~

Image from judithetrose.blogspot.com

Removed questions

  • Would you consider becoming an author?
  • Do you prefer ebooks or the physical books?

What is your favourite author of all time?

Jodi Picoult has long been a favourite of mine but more recently, Sarah J. Maas has taken the cake.

Do prefer libraries or bookstores?

I love both equally. I frequent my library quite often but if I know I’m going to love a book before I read it, then I’m more likely to just go pick up a copy from the bookstore. If we are talking bookstores though, I would definitely pick a secondhand bookstore or a charity shop over a run of the mill chain store.

How many books do you take to go out to lunch by yourself?

I usually take one paperback book but I do have the Kindle app on my tablet which will have a few books I’m flicking through on it.

Have you ever severely damaged a library book?

No – I’m usually a stickler for the rules and I hate the thought of damaging someone else’s property. Plus, they sting you with those fees!

Have you ever lost a book?

I don’t think so. If I have, I can’t remember.

If you could be best friends with an author, who would it be?

Sarah J. Maas. After meeting her when she came to New Zealand for a book tour, I fell in love with her personality ever more than her writing.

If you could be best friends with a character, who would it be?

I’m not sure if there are any characters I’d want to be best friends with per se but I think Bianca from The Duff by Kody Keplinger could be fun to hang out with for a while.

Do you smell your books?

Secondhand books, always!

What is your top 5 least favourite books and why?

I’m actually have a post scheduled about some of my least favourite/overhyped books so I’m not going to elaborate on why, but these are my top 5:

  • The Truthwitch
  • The Wrath & the Dawn
  • We Were Liars
  • Fifty Shades of Grey
  • Red Queen

My nominees:

So I’m not entirely sure who has less than 200 followers so I’m just going to tag a couple of people. If you do have less than 200 but you haven’t been tagged, definitely jump in on this.

My questions for you:

  1. What is your favourite series?
  2. Do you ever read the ending of a book first to see if you’ll like it?
  3. Is there a book you liked but think could do with a rewrite?
  4. Which book has your least favourite cover?
  5. How often do you unhaul books?
  6. Do you feel pressure to update your blog regularly?
  7. What is one of your favourite bookish items?
  8. What are the top 3 things on your bucket list?
  9. Which book would you sacrifice in an apocalypse to save the world?
  10. Would you like to travel to the past or the future?
  11. What is your favourite song? (Include YouTube link)
15 thoughts on “[Award] The Liebster Award

  1. Ara | The Bookish Agenda says:

    “I always liked the idea of being an author, but to be honest I don’t think I’m imaginative enough to come up with a good idea or patient enough to pull it together.”
    THIS. I have never related to a single sentence in my life before this!

    Thanks for the nomination! ❤ I actually just posted my own Liebster post yesterday, haha. But I will definitely do it again because I want to answer your questions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Hahaha I’m so glad! Look at you just being nominated all over the place 🙂 I just checked out your post and I’m in love with the below lol

      “Survival of the Fittest will weed out non-readers in a few decades, you’ll see.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

