Nomination: The Real Neat Blog Award

TRAVEL (11).png

Special thanks to Ice Breaker 694 for the tag  – this is really cool.

Cloak (5).png

The Rules:

  • Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.
  • Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.
  • Create 7 questions for your nominees.
  • Nominate 7 other bloggers.

The Questions:

What’s currently on your TBR?

tbrslide.png

Um, everything haha. If I had to narrow down my TBR to top 5, I’d say these are the books that are currently on my radar.

  1. This Savage Song
  2. The Problem With Forever
  3. Empire of Storms
  4. It Ends With Us
  5. A Conjuring of Light

Who’s the best book boyfriend/girlfriend?

So this recently changed. For quite a while my favourite duo was Daemon and Katy from the Lux Series because I just found their chemistry electrifying, but after reading ACOMAF, my team has changed. I’m not going to name the couple just in case some of you haven’t gotten around to this book yet – If you’ve read the book or my review (contains spoilers) then you know who it is.

#SummerRaps (make your own #SummerRaps)

I’m sorry Ice Breaker, I tried really hard but nothing is coming out. Will update this if something comes to mind. In the meantime watch the below for some brilliant summer raps – #ohbeckybecky

Who’s your favourite pet in a book?

29606063

Have you read Lily and the Octopus? If you haven’t then you have to – once you do you’ll see why Lily is my favourite pet.

From my mini review of this book:

#allthefuckingfeels. READ IT, READ IT, READ IT!

I have so much love for this little book. That synopsis sums up this book in the best possible way. It is sweet, funny and full of wonder. I love Ted and Lily so very much and that is because the writing is superb. Side note: that cover is super cute but the story is cuter

Any summer plans?

We are entering winter here but at the end of the year when summer hits, I am going to be heading up north (Whangarei) on a roadtrip with some friends and we are going to be renting a bach and chilling out on the beach and drinking beer.

I’m also hoping to hit up the local open air cinema at Silo Park which plays awesome flashback films. Last summer I dragged my bean bag down and watched Cool Runnings and Gremlins – was dope.

Pick 3 book characters that you’d take with you to the beach for slushies, surf, and sun.

  1. Levi from Fangirl
  2. Emily from Since You’ve Been Gone
  3. Bianca from The Duff

Book pet-peeves.

  • Instalove – You can’t really escape the instalove connections these days but they still irk me to no end. I personally don’t believe in love at first sight so it takes me a while to get around this before I can fully enjoy the story.
  • Endings with no end – I’ve read some good thrillers over the last year or so but because I get so engrossed in the stories, I get annoyed when the ending is technically a cliffhanger but you know there isn’t going to be a follow up book.
  • All sex, no story – I read new adult and erotica sometimes so I have no aversion to sex in books, but what I find annoying is when every other page has a sex scene and there is no cohesive plot to tie the characters and the story together.

My Nominees:

Okay, so for this I would like to nominate the below people. As always if you’ve completed this tag or just don’t feel like doing it, I promise no hard feelings.

My Questions For You:

  1. If you were to go on a crime spree, which character would you want as an accomplice?
  2. Why is your favourite book your favourite?
  3. Which author would you want to have a one-on-one with?
  4. You win a trip to go anywhere in the world, where do you go?
  5. Would you check out Jurassic Park if it was real?
  6. Let’s keep this G rated. Pick your 3 favourite characters and play Kiss, Marry or Kill
  7. What is your favourite post on your blog?
9 thoughts on “Nomination: The Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    I like your point about instalove. The whole “love at first sight” thing can be frustrating. Romantic idea? Sure. Realistic…uh. You can have lust at first sight or intrigue at first sight bu you’re right. Love, true love, takes time to grow and build. My favorite stories are the ones that try to do justice to that idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Ugh, it is such an annoying trope and I think it does a disservice to the romance. An organic love story with all the pitfalls is so much more interesting.

      I could rant about this for a rather long time lol

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael J. Miller says:

        I agree. Maybe that could be the topic of a future post! You could do a sort of analysis/comparison of depictions of healthy/real romance and the annoying (and I’d say less healthy) trope. I’d love to read the director’s cut of the rant :).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ChicNerdReads says:

    I agree with your pet peeves, especially the all sex, no story. I love reading New Adult but I can’t stand when it’s more sex than story because what’s the point after that? Endings with no end..I’ve read some stories that play that off well and others that I’m like “ARE YOU SERIOUSLY GOING TO LEAVE ME LIKE THAT?!?!?” So I understand where you’re coming from.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

