Book Tag: New York Times BY THE BOOK

TRAVEL (2)

Shout out to Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts for the tag. His blog is super rad so be sure to check it out.

I just saw the words New York and I was all in.

In the wise words of Joey: “I actually have no idea what this tag is about…? So I did some digging and it’s inspired by the “By The Book” feature in the New York Times where prompts are asked to authors (?). Something like that idk.”

No rules for this one by the looks of it so let’s jump right on in.

What book is on your nightstand right now?

So my nightstand is simply my floor and my fat cat is currently sleeping on top of a copy of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins which just so happens to be the last book I finished.

What was the last truly great book you read?

Great is so subjective but since I am still fangirling over A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas that is going to have to go down as my answer.

If you could meet one author (living or dead), who would it be? What would you ask?

Ah, so many choices! I’m not sure what my questions would be, but I would love to meet V. E. Schwab. I’ve met Sarah J. Maas and basically froze up so I’m sure this would go just as smoothly haha.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I have a really large classics section which seems to surprise some people given how many YA books I read. These range from some musty secondhand copies, beautiful hardback editions and your run of the mill orange penguin books. I went through a very big Russian lit phase and Leo Tolstoy is my main man. I also own a lot of Shakespeare as I like to reread a few of his plays each year.

How do you organize your personal library?

One of my book shelves has five shelves that are arranged as below:

  1. Classics
  2. Harry Potter and Throne of Glass
  3. Favourite series
  4. Favourite stand alones
  5. More classics

I then have another shelf which is arranged as below:

  1. Put a book where it fits

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten to yet?

I’ve been meaning to read the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes since everyone started losing their shit over it but it’s currently still sitting on my shelf, taunting me.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

So many things, but We Were Liars by E. Lockhart will always be on the top of my list. Why was everyone so psyched about this book? Everyone was the worst and the twist was pretty uneventful.

What kind of stories are you drawn to?

This is really mood dependant. If I was to narrow it down, I’d have to say I’m really drawn to books about families where there is some natural chaos and light-hearted romance. If I’m going to pick up a fantasy book, I much prefer there to be a little magic and some kick ass action sequences. Can’t go wrong with a hot bad boy either.

If you could require the president Prime Minister to read one book, what would it be?

It would have to be This Changes Everything by Naomi Klein. This is a book that explores the roles capitalism and climate change have on each other and is one of the most compelling environmental reads I’ve ever picked up.

What do you plan to read next?

I’m tossing up between a few things. I just marathoned 3 books in a week so I’m a little worn out at the moment and given I’m abandoning the rest of my June TBR, it will probably be one of the below:

My nominees:

As always, if you’ve done this tag already or just don’t feel like doing it, there won’t be any hard feelings.

5 thoughts on “Book Tag: New York Times BY THE BOOK

Leave a Reply

