[T10T] Freebie Week

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new theme and you can participate when and if you choose. This week is freebie week where we get to choose our own theme so for my top ten today I’m doing books on my shelf I haven’t read.

Too many books but so little time. I have a tonne of books on my shelf that I haven’t read because either the mood hasn’t struck or my attention span falters.

unreadonshelf.png

  1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare: I was so incredibly hyped to read this book after I finished The Mortal Instruments series but I didn’t realise it was such a big mofo until I went to buy it…I just don’t have the brain capacity at the moment.
  2. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner: I received this in my Owlcrate subscription box. Hoping to pick this up in the next month or so but it isn’t high on my list.
  3. Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon: So I was hooked on the first season of Outlander and immediately went out to a second hand book store and grabbed the whole series for $15. Then the hype wore off. Keeping my eyes off the second season until I tackle this beast.
  4. Soundless by Richelle Mead: This is another book I received in my Owlcrate and I’m still trying to figure out if its worth while. I tried to read the Vampire Academy series and it just never seemed interesting for me so I’m worried this might end up being a time waster.
  5. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover: One of my favourite books last year was by Colleen Hoover so when I saw this book for $4 second hand I knew I had to pick it up. Unfortunately every time I try to read it I’m just not in the mood but I will definitely tackle it this year.
  6. Across the Universe by Beth Revis: Everyone raves about this series but whenever I look at it on my shelf it has yet to call to me. Maybe I’ll pick this up or maybe I will end up donating it but I’m in no rush to pick it up at this stage.
  7. Not That Kind of Girl by Lena DunhamGirls is still one of my favourite TV shows so I was definitely keen to pick it up however I have to be in a very particular mood to read a biography. This will be one I check out later in the year.
  8. The Archived by Victoria Schwab: This has been sitting on my shelf for a long time as has the sequel. I grabbed these books before I had started my love affair with Schwab so I definitely think these will be read sometime in the near future.
  9. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about this book but for me, waiting for the hype to die down is going to a big contributor to how much I enjoy this book.
  10. War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy: This bitch of a book! I have been reading this on and off over the last few years and it is a monster. I was able to bang out Anna Karenina easily and it fast became a favourite of mine but for some reason this is one of those books that I really struggle with – knowing I’m not the only one is certainly comforting.

Do you have a book that is taking up permanent unread residence on your shelf?

27 thoughts on “[T10T] Freebie Week

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    Voyager’s on mine! I tackled Dragonfly in Amber so I could watch the second season and I think Voyager is going to have to wait until the third season comes out on TV XD
    Game of Thrones A Song of Ice and Fire has been on my shelf for way to long and I should really get to it but I always find something else to read instead haha. Lady Midnight is so good, I hope you can get to it soon! Great list 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Oh Game of Thrones is another monster series. Sometimes I just wish there was a one chapter summary of each book that said everything you need to know so I could pretend I committed to the whole thing lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael J. Miller says:

    You HAVE to read ‘Dragonfly in Amber’!!!!! I read ‘Outlander’ on a friend’s recommendation, got hooked, read the second…and lost a year of my life to the series. I haven’t watched any of the show yet as the characters, as I imagine them, are too fixed in my mind to see someone else’s interpretation yet. But I have never read a series with as captivating a group of characters as I have with this one. It just KEEPS GETTING BETTER. And after ‘Dragonfly in Amber’ you have ‘Voyager’!!! Aaaaahhh…there is sooooo much excitement ahead for you!

    Okay, sorry, deep breath…that was a MAJOR geek-out. I’ve calmed down now. But, as you can probably tell, I love me some Diana Gabaldon and ‘Outlander.’ Sorry for the crazy fanboy rant :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Haha fanboy away! I think it is going to have to be my next read because everyone else is saying I need to pick it up too. Every time I look at my shelf and see them clustered together it looks like such a mission! I loved book one and the show though so I might just have to get over myself and dive in. Goodbye life lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Michael J. Miller says:

        It’s a worthwhile trade off! The read so quickly too. I’ll be excited to hear your thoughts/feelings when you get around to it!

        I totally understand what you mean by “a mission” too. Where I live we just had a used book sale. We’re talking all the books you can fit in a bag for $1 sale. Sooooo…yeah, there’s lots of new books mocking me from the shelf (and they’ve joined a great many still-unread books already on the shelf). But buying books is too fun to stop! And we’ll all get to them SOMETIME right?!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I have so many unread books on my shelf at the moment, none of which I’ve been in the mood to actually read lol 🙈. The one that’s been on there the longest though is The Shock of the Fall. Hopefully I get around to it soon! Maybe Someday is an amazing book by the way. It’s my favorite by Colleen Hoover. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Donna says:

    I have had Democracy Matters for almost a year, but I haven’t been in the mood for this kind of books.
    There are also a few classics that I’ve been borrowing and bringing back to the library without opening them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

