Book Tag: The Book Sacrifice Tag

TRAVEL (2)

So this has been floating around for a while but I saw it over on the Book Coma‘s blog recently and finally remembered I wanted to give this a go.

Let’s get sacrificing.

The rules:

So there aren’t any rules for this from what I can see, but I’m going to do it this way:

  1. Acknowledge the person who tagged you – or in my case where you saw the tag
  2. Pick a book for each situation
  3. Nominate others or leave the tag open

An over-hyped book: 

SITUATION: You’re in a store when the zombie apocalypse hits. The military informs everyone that over-hyped books are the zombies only weakness. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you disliked do you start chucking at the zombies?

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

The twists are there, the setup is captivating but the characters are the worst and if you really think about it, nothing really happens. Still not entirely sure why everyone lost their shit over this book.

A sequel: 

SITUATION: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Champion by Marie Lu

This series should’ve been a duology because not everything is compelling enough to be a trilogy. I don’t even know if I ever read this book in full but I do remember skimming the ending and being disappointed.

A classic: 

SITUATION: You’re in English class and your professor raves about a Classic that “transcends time”. If given the opportunity to travel back in time, which Classic would you try to stop from ever publishing?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Sorry guys, but Mr Darcy does absolutely nothing for me. I’ve never been able to get through this book and I’m yet to figure out why it’s so popular. Can someone fill me in?

A least favourite book:

SITUATION: Apparently global warming = suddenly frozen wasteland. Your only hope of survival for warmth is to burn a book. Which book will you not regret lighting?

170453

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Nope, I didn’t get it and I didn’t enjoy it. I know quite a few people like it and as visually stunning as the movie is, the whole thing is a bit of a snore-fest for me.

My nominations:

Since this has been circulating the blogosphere for a while, I’m going to leave this open for whoever would like to do it.

 

6 thoughts on “Book Tag: The Book Sacrifice Tag

  1. kimmiegg says:

    What an interesting tag! I have to say that the only book I’ve read out of your selections is Pride and Prejudice, and I loooooooved the language. I think that’s what got me through the book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      It’s one of those books I’m definitely in the minority for. No one else I know disliked it. I’m glad you liked it – classics can sometimes be a struggle for me 🙂

      Like

  2. M560 says:

    I absolutely have to agree on Pride & Prejudice. These types of books never quite make an impression on me… It’s like how everybody loves Downton Abbey and I just find it quite boring…
    My books would be: The fault in our stars, Beautiful Darkness (sequel to Beautiful Creatures), Catcher in the Rye and lastly On the Road by Jack Kerouac (I know that’s a classic too, but it is one of those few books that I just couldn’t finish).

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      So I’ve only just checked my spam folder – sorry for not responding sooner! I hear you on the Downton Abbey front too – it just doesn’t do it for me. Haha funny that 3 of the books you would sacrifice are 3 that I really enjoyed. Just a great way to show that books aren’t a ‘one size fits all’ deal.

      Like

Leave a Reply

