The Score: 4 out of 5 stars

Off-Campus series book 3

Read my reviews of book 1 and book 2

I’m sitting here like:

But less sultry

synopsis_resize

He knows how to score, on and off the ice…it’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over.

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she’s going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands.

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.

review_resize

Batten down the hatches, it’s a dick storm.

I’ve realised that there are more and more penis mentions as we keep moving along in the series. I don’t know what is going to happen in the 4th book but I’m certainly interested to see.

So I didn’t think it was possible for these books to have cliffhanger endings but holy shit did this one end with a bang. September, you here yet? Need to get my Tucker on ASAP.

“Seriously, just find yourself a rebound.” Dean whips up his arm. “I volunteer as tribute.”

I get it guys, Dean is fucking glorious and this is officially my fave of the 3. Dean is the kind of guy you love to hate. He is arrogant, incredibly sexy, smart, sensitive (when prompted) and an all around dirt bag. I was wondering who Dean was going to be paired with and was pleasantly surprised to find it was Allie, Hannah’s best friend from book 1.

After a bad breakup sees Allie seeking refuge at the guys house, a round of tequila and some not so subtle innuendo leads to a night of insane sex for this duo and some restless days afterwards. Hooked on Allie after their tryst, the ultimate player quickly becomes a one woman man when he can’t get her – and her body – out of his head.

Allie isn’t easily wooed and while it is very obvious her body is screaming out for Dean, I like that she tried to rationalise her options before jumping back into bed with him. I mean I don’t know many people who would be able to resist his sexts, just saying. My favourite part in their back and forth has to be when they are at a bar called Malones and try to torment each other using a jukebox. Cue songs such as I Want You To Want Me by Cheap Trick (Dean) and U & Ur Hand by Pink (Allie). Second to this is a hilarious scene that involves a bath tub and a little friend named Winston…you’ll be laughing for a while.

We get to see a new side to Dean when he begins coaching a kids ice hockey team. He really finds his stride with these kids, particularly an adorable girl named Dakota, and slowly he begins to resemble a decent human being – something that desperately needed to happen.

“You also look at him like he hung the moon, and I get the sense he feels the same about you.”

These two are obviously very close. Even in a time of need Allie only thinks to contact Dean for comfort rather than turn to her best friend – he of course doesn’t hesitate in dropping everything and running to her side.

Some hard truths are revealed about both characters by each other and their friends which gave Dean and Allie some added depth. This was apparent when Dean suffers a personal tragedy (which I’m still mad at) and it is Allie who has to bring him to his senses in a somewhat harsh but necessary way.

The dynamic between these two is unique. There is a clear attraction that is electrifying from the first moment she cockblocks his threesome (ha!) and forces him to watch a sappy chick flick – you can’t help but be consumed by the way they’re drawn to each other.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m officially converted to these sport based romance novels and as long as there is a decent plot and some smokin’ guys, you’ll find my credit card at the mercy of Amazon.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book – seriously, do it!

Amazon

Book Depository

 

16 thoughts on “The Score: 4 out of 5 stars

  1. Nina // By Page or By Plane says:

    Aaaaahhh this has been sitting in my “reading” shelf at GR for too long, mostly because I like to think Dean is my book boyfriend, but this is a great review!!

    I know The Off-Campus series is New Adult, but if you’re looking for sports romances, maybe try the Cold Fury Hockey series by Sawyer Bennett, and I’ve been eyeing the Bellevue Bullies series by Toni Aleo. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Dick Storm!!! LOL. Haha! I love that! Dean is my favorite. I knew he’d be yours, too. 🤗 I’m so glad you converted to sports romances. I’m reviewing another sports series right now I think you’ll like. And I’m dying to get my hands on Tuck’s book. Give it to me now, Elle Kennedy, cries crazy fangirl! 😝 I loved reading this review. 🙂 And Winston and the bathtub was so hilarious. I just about died reading that part. And how about Logan’s reaction. Ha! I loved all the jokes from the guys after that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sara @ freadomlibrary says:

    Yes!!! I’m so glad you loved this one! This is my favorite because Dean is my favorite because he’s hilarious and sweet and honest and straight forward. I can’t wait to read Tucker’s story either! I’m sure that’s gonna be amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

