Book Tag: 2016 Mid-Year Freak Out

TRAVEL (2)

Thanks to Joey from Thoughts and Afterthoughts for tagging me to do this tag. Be sure to check out his blog.

Seriously, where has the first half of the year disappeared to?

Let’s just get right down to it.

Best book read in 2016 so far:

Um, if you’ve spent anytime on my blog then this should be no mystery. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas blew my mind in so many ways. I don’t think I’ve been this captivated by a book since…well, since her last book came out haha.

Best sequel read in 2016 so far:

It would be wrong to pick ACOMAF for every answer, but this is just as high on my list of great books this year. I waited until the hype died down a little on A Gathering of Shadows and then devoured it. V. E. Schwab brilliantly crafts a world of magic and mystery into one fabulous adventure. Holding out for the sequel.

New releases you haven’t read, but want to:

  • My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand
  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  • This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab
  • The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Most anticipated releases for second half of the year?

  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
  • The Goal by Elle Kennedy
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
  • Harry Potter & the Cursed Child  by JK Rowling

Biggest disappointment?

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. This book was only a disappointment because I had wanted so much more out of it than I got. Some of this was because it was so hyped and some of it was because I had my own preconceived notions of how the story would unfold. Either way I didn’t love it as much as other people did.

Biggest surprise?

There are 2 series that surprised me, both of which are New Adult hockey based romance novels.

Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

I just finished reading The Summer That Melted Everything (review to come) by Tiffany McDaniel and I loved it! McDaniel has just become an author to watch for me.

Newest fictional crush?

DEAN from The Score, book 3 in the Off-Campus series. Yo seriously, boy could get it anytime.

Newest favourite character?

Morrigan from ACOMAF. Mor quickly became my favourite character. She is a feisty, beautiful beast who appears to be a delicate flower but shatters this illusion easily and dominates any room she walks into.

Book that made you cry?

I was attacked by those damn ninja’s cutting onions when I read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. If you know anything about this book or you’ve seen the movie, then you get it.

Book that made you happy?

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare – I made a commitment to these characters and this world so when their journey came to an end, I was really happy to see this little family get their happy ending.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

Nothing physical but I’d have to go with my Audible version of With Malice by Eileen Cook.

Books you need to read by the end of the year?

Aside from the books I’ve highlighted as my most anticipated, I really want to get to the below:

  • Illuminae by Anna Kauffman
  • At least 2 more books in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

Favourite book community member (blogger, booktuber, bookstagrammer)?

I don’t really have one favourite – I’ve picked up great recommendations, advice and laughed with a lot of wonderful bloggers.

My nominees:

As always, if you’ve completed this tag or just don’t feel like doing it I won’t hold it against you.

11 thoughts on “Book Tag: 2016 Mid-Year Freak Out

Leave a Reply

