[Review] NetGalley Quick Fire

TRAVEL (6).png

Hi, my name is Monique and I’m addicted to NetGalley

All of these books were received for free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

So this is round 3 of my quick fire reviews and as with the other rounds, this is a NetGalley special. Here is the problem – I jump on NetGalley to see what is coming out, then I see a cool cover and a great synopsis and before I know it my NetGalley approved TBR shelf all of a sudden has 80+ books on it. Sigh.

If you haven’t read round 1 or round 2, my quick fire reviews are for books I read but don’t enjoy enough to write a complete review. Let’s not drag this out any longer, today’s books up for review are:

  • The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir by Lesley Allen
  • There Will Be Stars by Billy Coffey
  • The Summon Stone by Ian Irvine
  • Everything Love Is by Claire King
  • Lessons of the Heart by Jodie Larson
  • The Museum of You by Carys Bray

28933085

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

A stark but uplifting story of bullying and redemption, for anyone who’s ever been a weirdo. Almost too terrified to grip the phone, Biddy Weir calls a daytime television show. The subject is bullying, and Biddy has a story to tell.

This one surprised me. I was instantly struck by the synopsis but I didn’t realise how much I would become engrossed by this story having never been bullied myself. The characters are dynamic and the story is emotionally raw. I will say it took me a little while to get into but about 15 – 20% in I was hooked.


28120098

There Will Be Stars: 2.5/3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

A sharp curve, blinding headlights, metal on metal, his sons’ screams. Bobby’s final thought as he sinks into blackness is a curious one-There will be stars. Yet it is not death that greets him beyond the veil. 

That cover! It’s not that I thought that this was going to be light-hearted, but I didn’t think it was going to be so deep. There Will Be Stars is beautifully written but I had trouble connecting with the characters and therefore couldn’t enjoy this strange yet fascinating world. I would definitely say it is worth the go for some readers.


26245102

The Summon Stone: 2 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

The start of a brand new epic fantasy series from fan-favorite Ian Irvine, set in the world of his View from the Mirror series. The Merdrun, cruel warriors blooded by thousands of years of slaughter, are gathering in the void between the worlds.

I really wanted to like this but it just didn’t pan out for me. The writing in this felt rushed and I didn’t enjoy the world building or the characters. I was coming out of an anti-fantasy mood when I picked it up so don’t take this at face value – try for yourself.


27779339

Everything Love Is: 4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

A poignant, mysterious, and unforgettable story of love, and of the happy endings we conceive for ourselves.

You are so beautiful to me, can’t you see…So good. I powered through this book and I loved every beautiful detail. The writing is captivating to say the least and you do have to take it as it comes because it felt very different to me. I thought it explored love and what it is in an interesting and refreshing way. Simultaneously heartbreaking and uplifting.


28235587

Lessons of the Heart: 2 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Everyone says high school is tough. Fighting my attraction to James? That’s the hardest part, because this guy, my perfect match, the one who makes my heart overrule my head…He’s my teacher.

This is a little like the relationship between Ezra and Aria from Pretty Little Liars in the beginning but the book as a whole feels like a non event and quite frankly the characters are one-dimensional and the story is uneventful. Not for me by may be for you.


26889460

The Museum of You: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads

Clover Quinn was a surprise. She used to imagine she was the good kind, now she’s not sure. She’d like to ask Dad about it, but growing up in the saddest chapter of someone else’s story is difficult. She tries not to skate on the thin ice of his memories.

Ugh, I adore this cover. This book was okay, nothing spectacular but it definitely had some good moments. I really felt for Clover as she embarks on her journey of self discovery and was intrigued by all the characters she meets along the way and how she interacts with her father.


Well there you go. Some quick reviews that don’t give too much away. I didn’t find these books outstanding but just because they weren’t for me, doesn’t mean they won’t be for you so check them out on Goodreads for yourself.

9 thoughts on “[Review] NetGalley Quick Fire

  1. Donna says:

    I was addicted to NetGalley too. Then I bought a hundred books I really wanted to buy and now I don’t feel the need to check it anymore.
    The Museum of You is on my wishlist, that cover is just great.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrenee says:

    Yeah I’ve scaled myself back. Only allowed to request one book at a time after I’ve finished a few on my shelf. I just want to read everything! Haha

    Like

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    You’re addicted to NetGalley. Lol. 😂 I used to sign up for ARCs all the time until I realized I had too many and that it killed my ratings if I didn’t review them. Oops! I was like why are they saying my ratings aren’t good and then I started reading and rating or marking as DNF to improve my score. I still have 2 more I haven’t read.

    Liked by 2 people

    • mrenee says:

      Hahaha finding the loop holes. I don’t actually have 80 on there at the moment but I did at one point in time. I had to sit down and give myself a stern talking to about being a responsible reader/reviewer.

      Liked by 1 person

      • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

        I just posted a review on NetGalley and now I’m at 86%. Woo hoo! And I requested a ton of books as my reward. lol. Every review I read says I got this from the publisher and I’m like why am I not requesting ARCs anymore?

        Liked by 1 person

      • mrenee says:

        Woop woop! Haha we are basically kindred spirits. ARCs are the best! It’s pretty cool that publishers even give out free copies of books, let alone early additions. I get excited about reading books before anyone else lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

        I couldn’t help myself. After reading your post, I though why not request a few ARCs. Haha! Yep, kindred spirits who like our romance novels. 🙂 I didn’t see any good ones while I was on there, but maybe I didn’t look hard enough.

        Liked by 2 people

    • mrenee says:

      Haha I am on there constantly too. I don’t live in the US or UK so its harder for me to get approved for books – which is probably a good thing! Lol. I have them under control at the moment because I was getting greedy and overwhelmed. I literally just got approved for a book I really, really want to read so I’m pretty excited for that!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

