[Tag] The Shuffle Book Tag

TRAVEL (2)

I saw this tag completed on Jouska Blog and just had to pick it up myself because it looks like so much fun.

The Rules:

  1. Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Shuffle your iTunes library, Google Play music library, or whatever you’ve got.
  3. For each song that comes on, list the song and the artist, and name a book that it makes you think of, explaining why. (You can do as many or as few as you want, I’m not going to set a number. This is a low-pressure tag. Whoever we are, we are pretty laid back.)
  4. Tag as many bloggers as you want.

Alright, let’s get started:

For this I am going to use my biggest playlist on my Spotify account aptly named ‘Starred’.

Ride Wit Me by Nelly

Listen on YouTube

“If you wanna go and take a ride wit me, we three-wheelin in the fo’ with the gold D’s”

This just makes me want to dance and is my go to drunk karaoke song haha. This song reminds me of Amy and Roger’s Epic Journey by Morgan Matson because it is the perfect addition to any road trip playlist.

Forever by Youngblood Hawke

Listen on YouTube

“You say you won’t wait forever on me, but I wouldn’t make you wait that long”

A indie-pop love song which totally reminds me of the push and pull of the relationship in Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. A beautiful song for a beautiful couple in a beautiful book.

You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome by Miley Cyrus (Cover)

Listen on YouTube

“When something’s not right it’s wrong, you’re gonna make me lonesome when you go”

This reminds me of the controversial relationship in the book Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma – a story which I loved but the tumultuous nature of these two characters environment is as heartbreaking as this song.

Just My Imagination by The Cranberries

Listen on YouTube

“We used to be so free, we were living for the love we had and living not for reality”

Another song that makes me want to dance. I’m not entirely sure why, but the first book that pops to mind when I hear this is The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi. I briefly remember there being a scene on top of a building and I could imagine dancing the night away to this song.

Killing Me Softly With His Song by Fugees

Listen on YouTube

“And there he was this young boy, a stranger to my eyes”

An all time fave – Lauren Hill’s voice! Dead. This reminds me of Learning Not to Drown by Anna Shinoda which is a sad story about a family dealing with the actions of their eldest son; namely the relationship between the son and the youngest daughter.

Monster by Kanye West, JAY Z, Rick Ross, Nicki Minaj & Bon Iver

Listen on YouTube

“As you run through my jungles all you hear is rumbles”

I always imagine this song playing in the background of intense action scenes so for me, I’m going to put this song behind two of my more recent reads A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas and A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab.

Whatta Man by Salt-N-Pepa & En Vogue

Listen on YouTube

“What a man, what a man, what a man, what a mighty good man”

90’s R’n’B is my life. This one is dedicated to the boys in the Sinful Serenade series by Crystal Kaswell. Damn!

Panda – Remix by Karmin (Cover)

Listen on YouTube

“Panda, Panda, Panda, Panda, Panda, Panda, Panda…”

I was not a fan of this when I first heard it but now I’m hooked. For the book, I’m going to pick City of Bones by Cassandra Clare because the first time I tried to read this book a few years ago I couldn’t make it past the first few pages but the second time around I devoured it and it has fast become a favourite.

My nominees:

As always, if you’ve done this tag already or you don’t feel like doing it I promise there will be no hard feelings.

Sweater Weather

Books Reenchanted

Fangirl World

Betwixt the Pages

Trust in the Words

2 thoughts on “[Tag] The Shuffle Book Tag

Leave a Reply

