[Chat] What to read: Finding Books

TRAVEL (3)

Finding something new to read can be a stressful albeit satisfying endeavor, so I like to make sure I have a wide variety of books to choose from.

#firstworldproblems

I’ve listed my top 5 places where I go to hunt down my next read, but if you know of anywhere else that you think might be a good place to check out, let me know in the comments.

Booktube: I have a love/hate relationship with booktube. I used to rely heavily on booktube for my recommendations, but after I started finding myself picking up overhyped books that I didn’t enjoy, I had to move away. Now I know that isn’t their fault because they never force anyone to read anything, but I can’t help but get swept up in their excitement. I do still check in every now and then though to see what is circulating because the more popular booktubers receive a lot of ARCs and I like to know what is coming up. I also enjoy watching them complete book tags because it’s just entertaining. Some of my favourite booktubers are:

PeruseProject     ♥     Lulo Fangirl     ♥     Abookutopia

Ermahgerd Berks     ♥    A Book Affair

Goodreads:  Probably the biggest place I find recommendations. At any moment you can jump on the site and find someone reading the most intriguing book you’ve never heard of. It’s also a great place to keep track of all the books you want to read so if you’re ever struggling to pick something up, you can jump in to your ‘to-read’ list and find something to pique your interest. It’s also a great way to find out how someone is enjoying a book as they are reading it.

NetGalley: NetGalley is a great place to request free e-book versions of recently released books, re-released books and the ever hunted after ARC. If you live in the UK, US or Canada, it is a whooooooooole lot easier to request/be approved as more publishers have territorial rights in these countries. If you live in little old AU or NZ, it can be a little tougher but I’ve definitely requested and received some awesome books from here. What I like about NetGalley is that it features books from a range of publishers and genres so something I might not have thought about buying can all of a sudden end up on my TBR. I’ve also made note of books that I know I won’t be approved for and picked them up when they are released. It is worth mentioning that some of the publishers put out seasonal YA samplers to let you know what they are releasing and that gives you a chance to read a chapter of what may become a new favourite book.

Library: That’s right, I still hit up that ancient thing called a library – particularly when the funds are liiiiiight. The library always has some great recommendations and I’ve certainly found some of my favourites from there. My library also let’s you borrow e-books and audiobooks so there is a resource for everyone.

Blogs: That should be obvious. I love reading real reviews from lovely individuals like yourselves whose opinions I trust and admire. It’s also really cool to be able to fangirl over books we all like and not feel like a dork. It’s interesting to me that even though we all predominately read YA, the types of books we pull from that genre is vast and I really enjoy finding new books that I can read and then rave about alongside you.

Do you have a go to place when you need a new book?

Main image source

11 thoughts on “[Chat] What to read: Finding Books

  1. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I really want to start watching booktube videos. I’ve never really used YouTube that much but I think it’d be nice to interact with another side of the book community. 🙂 Plus I’d be able to get more recommendations (although my already very long TBR may not like me for that…).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amandalynn9204 says:

    Goodreads, Netgalley and other blogs are where I go too! I love roaming around bookstores and library’s and Just looking at every interesting read I find, those places are so therapeutic! Lol

    I’ve never really watched any booktubes but you make them sound entertaining so I will have to check out the ones you recommended!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Michael J. Miller says:

    Sometimes I like to just wander aimlessly around a bookstore. Given enough time, I’m sure to find something (or somethings!) that I’m excited about. I’ll stroll, look at covers, read the blurbs, see what’s been displayed and the like. There’s few pleasure more fun than an afternoon spent strolling around the bookstore with no place to be and no time limit to your shopping :).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Catherine says:

    Barnes and Noble and the local library are my top two spots. I haven’t purchased a book in a year, but I have been passively reading books in Barnes and Noble before and after work. The book I’m on right now is Redeployed by Phil Klay. You can find the book on Amazon also.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Haha I remember when the Deathly Hallows came out and I was too poor for the book so I would go to the bookstore and read it on my lunch breaks. Love that other people do that too! Will check it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

