[T10T] Influenced by books

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new theme and you can participate when and if you choose. This week’s theme is Ten things books have made me want to do or learn about after reading them.

Here. We. Go.

Road trips – Not much trumps jumping into a car with some friends, snacking down and blasting some tunes while you drive into oblivion. Everytime I read a book with an epic road trip, I think

Learn a new language – I don’t have enough discipline to stick it out and have tried to learn NZSL, French and Spanish on a number of occasions but since I don’t travel anywhere or have anyone to chat to, it gets hard to keep the momentum going.

Learn to cook epic shit – How good does food sound in books?! It’s like Masterchef up in these worlds day in and day out.

Learn to paint – I wish I was one of these naturally artistic people but even my stick figure drawings are put to shame by my boss’ 2 year old.

Be more adventurous – Skydiving, bungee jumping, shark diving, heli skiing…I wish I was brave enough to do it more. I love getting out in nature and hiking etc. but I’m a little too cautious to run wild on my own. Now if I had some company, well that might be a little different.

Be an epic prankster – If I could go back to high school, I would want to be in a prank war like in the book Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan. It just seems like so much fun but my imagination would be zilch and my pranks would probably flop.

Deck my room out YA style – So I’m well past the days where posters were plastered all over my walls, but sometimes when I read the descriptions of some of these kids rooms, I get legitimately jealous that my style aesthetic is not as on point.

Travel, travel, travel – Nothing makes me want to travel more than reading books where everyone is drinking cocktails and doing dumb shit in fantastic places.

Start kickboxing or martial arts – I went through a phase of only reading books where there was a fearless warrior-esque character at the helm and it made me want to take up some sort of ass kicking activity. I actually went to a few kickboxing classes where I died repeatedly week after week but it’s that typical thing where you miss one class and then find excuses to miss the others.

Solve a big mystery – What is with all these seemingly average people running around solving mysteries before the cops do. Oh someone got murdered on our street? No worries guys, I’ll ditch life for a few days and figure out what’s going on. Okay maybe no murders, but you get where I’m going.

Have you done something because you read it in a book?

3 thoughts on “[T10T] Influenced by books

Leave a Reply

