[Chat] Favourite audiobooks

TRAVEL (3)

I love audiobooks. There, I said it. 

I largely read books using the Kindle app on my tablet because I don’t have the room/the budget to continuously purchase paperback copies. The great thing about some ebooks is that there is an option to add audio on Amazon through  Whispersync for Voice. Not available on all books and after writing my list, not available on the books that are my fave.

I also love Audible however the audiobooks on here can be really expensive and are not always budget friendly – not for me anyway. The cool thing with Audible is that you can earn credits by having a subscription and I’ve bought many audiobooks this way.

audiobook1.png

Shall we get down to it? My top rated audiobooks are:

The Martian by Andy Weir: If you’ve read my review of this book, you’ll know how much I enjoyed Mark Watney and his space journey. But the best part for me was R. C. Bray and the personality he infused into this character stuck in a shitty situation. His inflections were incredible and the humourous way in which he interpreted Watney gave this book new life. I would definitely listen to other books Bray narrates because of this. (Buy on Audible)

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling: Have you ever watched The Mindy Project? If you have then you’ll probably understand why you would have to listen to her book instead of read it. Mindy narrates this herself and it is just as funny and wonderful as you might imagine it would be. (Buy on Audible)

Bossypants by Tina Fey: I mean Tina Fey is the queen of comedy – do you really need another reason to listen to this? As with Mindy Kaling, this is narrated by Tina herself and the way she self deprecates and self praises whilst telling her stories had me laughing out loud. She is an absolute star at narration. (Buy on Audible)

The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen: I picked this up for cheap on audiobook and it was one of the best book purchases I’ve made. I loved this whole series but this book in particular sparked a new love of adventure in my soul. There are some great little twists and turns throughout and even though I ended up figuring out the cliffhanger, the whole journey was incredibly fast paced and intriguing. (Buy on Audible – usually on sale for < $5)

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: The audiobook hooked me on this series and I’ve never looked back. Celaena Sardothien fast became my favourite character because the narration by Elizabeth Evans was so fierce and so captivating that you couldn’t help embarking on this character’s journey. Evans also made the world building so vivid in my mind that I’ve yet to find a landscape as vastly compelling as the one in this book/series.  (Buy on Audible – usually on sale for < $5)

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han: This is a super cute book that I wouldn’t have wanted to read any other way. I listened to both books on audio and listening to the narrator Laura Knight Keating’s inflections as she talked through the main characters emotions reminded me of all the crazy crushes I had in high school. (Buy on Audible)

Do you have a favourite audiobook?

10 thoughts on “[Chat] Favourite audiobooks

  1. Diana says:

    I have never listened to an audio book because I think I’d lose concentration or sleep.However,Tina Fey and Mindy sound like interesting books as audios due to Tue narrators.Interesting post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • mrenee says:

      It definitely took me a while to get in to the rhythm of it but I listen to them on the train so it’s a good way to kill time when I don’t feel like actually picking up a book. Those ladies are hilarious! 🙂

      Like

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    I absolutely love Throne of Glass but for some reason the audio doesn’t appeal. At the moment I’m loving the Night Huntress series by Jeaniene Frost on audio although it keeps making me laugh aloud which is totally going to get me in trouble 🙂 Harry Potter and the Dresden Files are also good on audio.

    As a tip for getting audio’s free, a lot of libraries use Overdrive and you can borrow audiobooks for free for up to three weeks. I download them to an app on my phone and I’m good to go 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • mrenee says:

      I was just saying to Taylor that I always forget about Overdrive. I’m going to have to look in to getting that. I would love to listen to Harry Potter but in my mind it is a million hours long lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

