[Review] The Elixir series: 3.5 out of 5 stars

by Hilary Duff & Elise Allen

Elixir books 1 – 3

Confession: I still adore Hilary Duff

review_resize

Hilary Duff was the it girl when I was growing up and Lizzie McGuire was my jam. So when I saw the hardback versions of this series on sale I knew it was the perfect chance to see what these books were all about. I was surprised and elated to find a cohesive paranormal mystery that didn’t suck.

Below are the reviews for all three books.

Let’s go.

7765642Book 1 – Elixir

4 out of 5 stars

Goodreads     ♥     Amazon

Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon & a prominent politician, Clea has grown to be a talented photojournalist. But following Clea’s father’s disappearance, Clea’s photos begin to feature eerie, shadowy images of a strange & beautiful man – a man she has never seen before.

First of all, Clea is a fantastic name that I’ve never heard before and I’m now totally in love with it. Clea is living a relatively normal life before everything slips into the paranormal zone after she starts seeing an attractive man popping up in the background of all her photos. The story really kicks off when she takes an assignment in Brazil after her father disappears. While there she runs into the very attractive and very mysterious Sage aka the man in her photos. There is a sort of past life element to this story that amplifies the relationship between Clea and Sage and creates a deeply soulful romance. At its core, this is a love story through and through.

13547087

Book 2 – Devoted

3.5 out of 5 stars

Goodreads     ♥     Amazon

Clea Raymond believes her soulmate, Sage, is lost forever, and it rips her apart. She is haunted by memories of him being taken away by his enemies. Then strange signs and dreams point to a way she can possibly win him back. To succeed, she’ll have to put her faith in her former best friend Ben—despite the devastating reason he’s lost her trust.

Cliffhanger! The adventure continues in Devoted and shit blows up. This was just as fast paced as the first book and the adventure takes a slightly heartbreaking albeit exciting turn. Clea is still on the hunt for her dad and trying to understand her connection to Sage.  Ben, her best friend, plays a different role in this book and we are introduced a new character Amelia and her strange and somewhat terrifying family. Clea is a little annoying in this book and her constant whining about Ben, Sage and her dad had me on edge a little. This comes to an explosive cliffhanger ending that came out of nowhere and gave this book some much needed redemption.

14802438Book 3 – True

3 out of 5 stars

Goodreads     ♥     Amazon

Clea wants to try to enjoy their new life together, but Sage is acting different—angry—and she struggles to keep her friends from finding out what has happened to him. Something is clearly haunting Sage, and Clea is losing control. Can she trust her friends with the dangerous truth, or will she have to risk losing Sage to madness?

And it all comes to an end. This is another example of when a series should be a duology rather than a trilogy. This was much slower and after the devastating events at the end of book 2, this story didn’t have a choice but to take a strange turn. The alternating POVs were interesting but not outstanding but it did make me like Rayna a lot more. The ending is romantic but I’m still not sure if I think it is a happy ending.

Have you guys read this series? What’d you think?

Just to keep my Hilary Duff fan club membership card, are you guys watching Younger?

8 thoughts on “[Review] The Elixir series: 3.5 out of 5 stars

  1. itsmisselizabeth says:

    Oh my gosh! I’m still totally in love with her too! I still listen to her music form her first album. I had no idea that she started writing. The books don’t really sound like something that I would be into but on the other hand they remind me of Meg Cabots Mediator series (which I totally loved). I hope she didn’t use a ghost writer, that’s not really fair and she’s too amazing for that.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. mrenee says:

    I think she co-wrote it with the other author Elise Allen not really had a ghostwriter. Thats what I think anyway. I basically only picked them up because she wrote them haha but was pleasantly surprised to find I liked them. I also adore the covers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

