[Review] In the Eye of the Storm: 4 out of 5 stars

Storm and Silence book 2

Read my review of book 1

ARC kindly provided by author Robert Thier in exchange for an honest review.

I was completely surprised by how much I enjoyed the first book Storm & Silence so when author Robert Thier asked me if I wanted to review the sequel I jumped at the chance. Holy shit was this good!

33 Feminist GIFs You Need In Your Life

synopsis_resize

Egypt… land of romance, mystery, and exploding camels. Lilly Linton thought she’d be ready for anything after one month of working for her boss – cold, calculating businessman Rikkard Ambrose. But when they embark on a perilous hunt through the desert, she has to face dangers beyond anything she has encountered before: deadly storms, marauding bandits, and worst of all, a wedding ring!

Can the desert’s heat truly be enough to melt the cold heart of Britain’s richest financier?

review_resize

To avoid spoiling some big things, I’m going to keep this review short and sweet.

A few thoughts:

  • “Love is in the air everywhere I look around”
  • Lilly and her feminist ways are alive and well in this. I fell in love with Lilly in Storm and Silence because she was very independent and determined in her quests. I’m happy to say that this is still the case.
  • While I was a little frustrated that we didn’t get to know more about Ambrose, his mysterious nature is still a massive draw.
  • Twists and turns that make you think ‘what the fuck is happening’ and then some calming moments where you think ‘just breathe, we’re all going to be okay’.
  • Ambrose and Lilly are both still headstrong and stubborn but there is a definite shift in their relationship which hooked me from the start.
  • You don’t even have a chance to get bored because the pacing and writing is superb. Robert Thier has a unique way of making this anti-historical fiction reader devour every single page.
  • Adventure, romance, humour, action, drama…it’s all there in a neat little package.
  • The ending – no, no, no, no, no!!!!!

As far as sequels go, this is one case where the second book transcends the first. If you like historical fiction, headstrong characters and a whole lot of action, check out the synopsis for book one and give this series a go.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon

Book Depository 

5 thoughts on “[Review] In the Eye of the Storm: 4 out of 5 stars

  1. Sophia R. Byron says:

    I didn´t know about this book! I just have one question: is there magic in the book (fantasy literature) or is it purely historical? Normally I don´t read anyhting historical but I must admit this book in particular has intrigued me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

