[Chat] Best Books Recommended To Me

TRAVEL (3)

Recommendations are the best. I love finding new things to read and new genres to explore, so I thought it might be cool to pop down a list of some of the best books I’ve had recommended to me.

Don’t get me wrong, not everything I’ve been recommended has turned to gold but I have to say that my friends have a pretty good knack for recommending books.

rec1.png

  • Everything Is Illuminated – This was a guilt buy. My dear friend thought she had destroyed my copy of Anna Karenina, one of my favourite books, and so she bought me Everything Is Illuminated in return; her favourite book still to this day. I thought this was a little slow in the beginning but before I knew it I had devoured this story. Jonathan Safran Foer fast became a new favourite author of mine.
  • A Tale for the Time Being – This is one hell of a surprise and if you don’t mind dual perspective stories, I would definitely recommend that you too pick this up. The same friend who gave me Everything Is Illuminated basically shoved this in my face and I’m so glad she did. This is a heart wrenching tale about a 16 year old girl in Japan who keeps a diary, a diary that is lost in a tsunami and washes up on a beach in British Columbia. Enter the second narrator.
  • Shadow of the Wind – A story about books and family, this is easily in my top 5 reads of all time. I pick this book up once a year and every time I read it I find something new I love and something new that frustrates me. I’m still not sure why I haven’t written a review for it but I should probably get onto that.

rec2.png

  • The Golem and the Jinni – This is a mythical tale that consumed me body and soul. This was the first book I read in this style and the fairytale-esque narrative captured my attention from start to end. Not enough people have read this book in my opinion so if you read the premise and think it sounds worthwhile, it is.
  • Perks of Being a Wallflower – Surely everyone knows this book by now right? Or at least the movie starring Hermione Emma Watson and Percy Jackson Logan Lerman? I love everything about this book and these characters. If I was still in high school, this would be one of those books that I would’ve loved to have read then.
  • Eleanor & Park – One of my all time favourite love stories and YA contemporaries. These characters and their journey together and apart is one of the most realistic and endearing arcs I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.

rec3.png

  • Hell’s Angels – This is deep and insightful and oh so fucked up. I don’t even know how to explain this book but if you ever wanted to know anything about the Hell’s Angels, read Thompson’s first hand account of living and breathing that life.
  • The Pact – I read this in one sitting and it started a love affair with Jodi Picoult. At the time I picked this up I would’ve been about 15, I was just starting to move out of those teeny bopper books so this showed me teen relationships in a way I hadn’t yet discovered and a narrative style that was completely new.
  • Throne of Glass – you guys know how I feel about Sarah J. Maas and all of her books. If it wasn’t for one of my best friends discovering her first, I may have waited far too long to pick this up and never know how consumed I could be by a series. I also would’ve never had the pleasure of meeting Rowan. Damn!

To stop this post from getting any longer, I’m going to give special mention to the below books without explanation. These are books I’ve picked up solely because of lovely bloggers and booktubers like yourselves.

  • PUCKED series by Helena Hunting (my review)
  • Off-Campus series by Elle Kennedy (my review)
  • Smut by Karina Halle (my review)
  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (my review)
  • The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (my review)
  • Legend by Marie Lu
  • Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
  • True Blood series by Charlaine Harris – admittedly only read the first 4 books but they were fucking great
  • Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon – though I’ve only read book one, I’m sure the others are just as fabulous

What is the best book you were recommended?

On an unrelated note, anyone else glad Jojo is back in the game? Have been listening to this on repeat since it came out.

15 thoughts on “[Chat] Best Books Recommended To Me

    • mrenee says:

      It’s so good, I don’t know how you couldn’t 🙂 It’s one of those books I loved even more after seeing how brilliant the movie was. Oh I hope you like them 🙂

      Like

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    This was such a great idea for a post! And I agree, there’s nothing like getting a great new recommendation from a friend you trust when it comes to books. I had ‘Shadow of the Wind’ recommended to me too and I completely agree with your take on it. I love it! But the best recommendation I’ve ever received – coincidentally enough – was Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Outlander.’ I LOVE THAT SERIES!!! And I probably never would have picked them up without the recommendation because they jut looked like a long series of reeeeeeally long books that sounded “alright” to me. Oh how wrong I was :).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    I also loved Golem and the Jinni (….on the American version it isn’t spelled with a ‘D.’ Where are you from?)! I haven’t read E&P yet but it is SO on my list to read ASAP. I love when people recommend great books. It makes me sooo happy. (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

