[T5W] Fave First Sentences

topfive

Top Five Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly meme hosted by Thoughts On Tomes. Each week there is a new theme which you can find on the T5W Goodreads group. This week’s topic is favourite first sentences.

There are so many great opening lines. The first one that always springs to mind is the classic “Call me Ishmael” from Moby Dick, but to stay true to my favourites, I’ve picked the below.

“The heat came with the devil” – The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

“Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul.” – Lolita by Vladamir Nabokov

“Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.”  Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

“All happy families are alike; each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” –  Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

“I’m pretty much fucked.” – The Martian by Andy Weir

What’s your favourite first line from a movie or a book?

5 thoughts on “[T5W] Fave First Sentences

  1. kimmie.gg says:

    Lolita by Vladmir Nabokov was certainly a new type of read for me. The first sentence really had me captivated, and I wasn’t able to put the book down. When I read it (I was pretty young, and was going through a “100 books you need to read before college” list at that time) I was a bit shocked. It’s definitely a book I need to revisit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      It’s a very confronting book that’s for sure but it is still one of my all time favorite classics. I’m glad you loved it too! Lolita is one of those books some people seem to be afraid to admit they enjoyed, like Twilight lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

