Blog Tour: Been Here All Along w/Giveaway

TRAVEL (10)

I received a copy of this book for free from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Be sure to follow the Been Here All Along blog tour for awesome reviews, excerpts and more.

synopsis_resize

Been Here All Along
Sandy Hall
Publication date: August 30th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Gideon always has a plan. His plans include running for class president, becoming head of the yearbook committee, and having his choice of colleges. They do NOT include falling head over heels for his best friend and next door neighbor, Kyle. It’s a distraction. It’s pointless, as Kyle is already dating the gorgeous and popular head cheerleader, Ruby. And Gideon doesn’t know what to do.

Kyle finally feels like he has a handle on life. He has a wonderful girlfriend, a best friend willing to debate the finer points of Lord of the Rings, and social acceptance as captain of the basketball team. Then, both Ruby and Gideon start acting really weird, just as his spot on the team is threatened, and Kyle can’t quite figure out what he did wrong…

review_resize

Somewhere between 3.5 – 4 stars for me. Still trying to decide but I did really enjoy this book and managed to fly through it.

Quick fire review:

This is really short and pretty adorable. The book is really well written and while I did find it to carry on a little too long at parts, I really liked the characters and the overall feel of this book.

Let’s get into it:

Bromance turned romance = yaaaaaaaaaas!

Kyle and Gideon fast became one of my favourite pairs. Their friendship is something to be admired and I thought the way they transitioned from friends to lovers was really organic and full of sweet, hilarious and tender moments. Sandy Hall has created two dynamic characters who manage to bounce off one another flawlessly and make you root for them from the get go.

Kyle and Gideon have been friends since they were kids so they share this great shorthand and know each other on an entirely soulful level. If you are someone who loves #squadgoals, these two would jump straight to the top of the list. I have to say that even though I was not a huge fan of the books or the movies myself, I did really enjoy the Lord of the Rings references.

I was surprised to find that I really liked that this was told through a number of view points (4 to be exact): Gideon, Kyle, Ezra and Ruby. I always consider alternating POV’s a bit of a gamble because I can find them distracting but I thought the author did a great job of creating distinct voices and a free-flowing narrative.

This isn’t a book just for the older YA reader either as it has enough great content that would be suitable for middle grade readers too – I’ve seen a few people mention this over on Goodreads and thought I’d include it in here because I happen to agree.

While slightly predictable and a little choppy at some points, this is an overall enjoyable read that will make you feel all gooey inside by time you reach the end.

I’ve never read anything by Sandy Hall before but after devouring this adorable tale, I will have to look into her other work. Thanks Giselle for letting me be apart of this book tour and exposing me to such a delightful author.

LINKS_RESIZE

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iTunes

GIVEAWAY! (US/Canada only)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

meet the author_resize

Author Bio:

I’m a teen librarian from New Jersey where I was born and raised. I have a BA in Communication and a Master of Library and Information Science from Rutgers University. When I’m not writing, or teen librarian-ing, I enjoy reading, slot machines, marathoning TV shows, and long scrolls through Tumblr. A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT is my first novel.

Website / Goodreads / Twitter

XBTBanner1

One thought on “Blog Tour: Been Here All Along w/Giveaway

Leave a Reply

