[Chat] Auto-buy Authors

TRAVEL (3)

Are you telling me that my favourite author just wrote a new book?

Having a favourite author is like being in a tumultuous relationship; there are the good times where your world is rocked, the bad times where it feels like you want to riot through the streets, the sad times where tissues and ice-cream are your best friends, and there are those surprising times that make you feel like you’re on an emotional rollercoaster.

I love these relationships with authors, so much so that many of them become my top auto-buy authors.

My top 8 (because I couldn’t think of 10) are:

jodipicoult1.png

“You don’t love someone because they’re perfect, you love them in spite of the fact that they’re not.” – My Sister’s Keeper

Jodi Picoult: Jodi Picoult was my first favourite author. Back in 2006 after reading The Pact – which I found to be one of the most compelling reads at the time -I automatically went out and picked up My Sister’s Keeper, Keeping Faith, Salem Falls and Nineteen Minutes, all of which allowed me to continue my love affair with Picoult. I’ve never been able to figure out what it is about her writing that draws me in and satisfies my soul, but the love I have for this author runs so deep that I own every book written to date and she is taking up residence on her own shelf.

sarahjmaas1.png

“She was a whirling cloud of death, a queen of shadows, and these men were already carrion.” – Queen of Shadows

Sarah J. Maas: Sorry Beyonce, but Maas is Queen in my eyes. Literally anything and everything is pre-ordered then devoured in a binge reading frenzy. Some of the best book hangovers I’ve ever had have come from the Throne of Glass and the Court of Thorns and Roses series. Need more of this incredible world building in my life day after day. 5 million stars to anything she writes.

rainbow1

“I love you more than I hate everything else.” – Landline

Rainbow Rowell: My soul sister. Fangirl was the buzz book when I first picked up this author and ever since I’ve been furiously binge reading whatever I can get my hands on. Rainbow Rowell (best name!) writes some of the most relatable characters I’ve ever read and she doesn’t play in to YA trends so her characters remain jam packed with raw emotion and are full of heart. I have yet to read a book by Rowell that I’ve been disappointed in and I hope that continues.

morganmatson1

“And I’ve realized that the Beatles got it wrong. Love isn’t all we need—love is all there is.” – Second Chance Summer

Morgan Matson: Every book is tender to the core. Since You’ve Been Gone hooked me on to Matson in the most fun way. Her characters are so full of life and their adventures keep you entertained throughout. Girl also knows how to pick out a cute cover – I know a few people who have purchased her books as cover buys and then been pleasantly surprised by the story they find inside.

johgreen1.png

“The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.” – Looking for Alaska

John Green: The King of emotional manipulation. After The Fault In Our Stars tore my heart apart, I just knew I had to pick up some of John Green’s other books to see if they fucked with my emotions too…they did. I’ve laughed, cried and screamed in frustration over these characters band I can’t deny that there is something about his writing that makes every scene relatable in a way I am yet to figure out.

paullinasimons1

“I love you breathlessly, my amazing man.”- The Bronze Horseman

Paullina Simons: Everyone should read her books. I’m yet to tackle the brilliant Bronze Horseman series but I have read all of her other books and there is something so engaging about her writing that I can’t help but pine for a new book. Like Jodi Picoult, I own all of Paullina Simons books to date and she too has a special place on my book shelf.

mindykaling1.png

“I am notorious for making impassioned speeches about things nobody cares about.” – Why Not Me?

Mindy Kaling: Mindy is straight up funny, there is no denying it. This is the rare occasion where I purchase the audio books rather than any other medium. The inflections in her speech are hilarious and I’ve spent many hours grinning crazily to myself on the train while listening to her stories.

jenniferlarmentrout1.png

“I always liked you. From the moment you first flipped me off.” – Onyx

Jennifer L. Armentrout: A paranormal fantasy goddess. When I first saw White Hot Kiss floating around, I thought no, absolutely not – that cover and title are horrible. Then it was on sale for $0.99 on Amazon so I thought meh, why not…holy shit did it change everything! From then on out Armentrout became a go to author for me and I devoured The Dark Elements series and proceeded to revel in the world created in The Lux series.

Do you have an author whose books you’d buy no matter what?

13 thoughts on “[Chat] Auto-buy Authors

  1. Donna says:

    I am reading my first Picoult in September, I have heard so much about her books that I can’t wait to see for myself! 🙂
    I don’t have any authors on auto-buy yet, I am giving myself until the end of the year to test several books from the authors I have discovered in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mugglesandmundanes says:

    Yessss! Sarah J Maas is the uktimate queen! I read one Jodi Picoult book and loved it! It was my sisters keeper and I loved it! I’ve read every single John Green book and boy did I enjoy them all!
    I’ve only read Fangirl and tried reading carry on but I just couldn’t so I’m willing to try again because I really enjoyed Fangirl! Such a lovely post!
    Cheers x

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      I must admit I struggled a little with Carry On myself but managed to pull it thought in the end.

      I’m so excited for Empire of Storms…ahhhhhh! Haha.

      My Sisters Keeper is such a good book. I like that all of her books somehow manage to be sad and uplifting at the same time.

      Like

      • mugglesandmundanes says:

        I agree! Empire eof storms is my most anticipated read or this month! I honestly can’t wait! Jodi Picoult is an exceptional writer and her writing style is one I love a lot. I think I’ll try to read carry on again sometime soon. Hopefully it’s not as bad as I think it will be!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

