[Chat] Favourite New Adult Books

TRAVEL (3)

Look, I love a good YA book as much as the next person.

I don’t know if it is because they have that gooey center or if it is because I’m secretly trying to relive my high school years, but I can’t help but love those types of stories. However when I get over the high school tropes, the teen drama and 17 year old’s trying to fulfill a prophecy, I like to pick up a NA book (usually a cheesy romance) and read about people struggling to adult, drinking too much, blowing their budgets and trying to get laid. Just keeping it real for ya.

So without further ado, let me lay down some of my absolute favourite NA books. Some of these were recommended to me, some were found in the dark depths of Amazon, but most have pulled me out of a reading slump or 2.

Untamed series by Victoria Green & Jen Meyers

If you like a contemporary read that has wit, thrilling drama, sex, passion and actually feels like it is set in a real world (not a love bubble), pick this one up! Ree & Dare are obvious soulmates from the beginning and their charming wit made me fall in love with them over and over again. I really like that while they have grown up in different worlds, their life journeys mirror each other in a number of ways – aka they both suffer from shitty parents syndrome.

Second Chances series by L. E. Bross

When I first requested this series off NetGalley I assumed I knew what was going to happen – bad boy meets good girl and love ensues. The end. Still I thought meh, maybe this will be a cute contemporary to help me get through my train ride. Turns out I was partially right and partially wrong because this was far better than advertised. It was so good that I devoured it in one sitting.

Smut by Karina Halle

I had seen this recommended a few times on different blogs a little while ago and finally got around to pick it up after a recent mention. I ended up reading this in one sitting because I was completely hooked on Blake and Amanda. Their chemistry is off the charts from the beginning – when of course they still hate each other – and the more time they spent together, the more I wanted to keep reading about them.

PUCKED series by Helena Hunting

I marathoned all 4, neglected other books and have zero regrets. I was pleasantly surprised to find that these were really tender and romantic…especially given how often everyone is getting naked. I really enjoyed these books. I was a little worried about picking them up because a) the covers are not my jam and b) I don’t really like reading sport based books. Turns out these have a lot less hockey in them than you’d think for books about hockey players – but the romance is alive and well yo.

Sinful Serenade series by Crystal Kaswell

The main characters are adorable, frustrating, sexy and I loved them as individuals and as a unit. These books have all the parts that make up a great book of this genre and they definitely aren’t lacking in humour, romance, family and sex. What I like about these books is that even though they are very much in the instalove realm, it doesn’t feel that way as you’re reading it. Maybe that is because the writing isn’t contrived, maybe it’s because the characters have depth – whatever it is, I’m down for it.

Off-Campus series by Elle Kennedy

The books in this series are the kind of romance books that consume you from the first few pages. Just when you think you’re about to read yet another book about a bad boy and a good girl, Elle Kennedy flips the whole thing on its fucking head. What I really enjoy about these books is that Elle Kennedy spends time fleshing out these characters as individuals before she brings them together as a couple. The sex scenes are pushed into the second half of the story and serve a clear purpose rather than being scattered throughout to cover for an obvious lack of plot.

I don’t feel like writing a ridiculously long post today so below are a list of quick fire books I’ve read and loved:

  • Wasted Words by Staci Hart
  • Hopeless by Colleen Hoover
  • Losing It by Cora Carmack
  • Where the Road Takes Me by Jay McLean

Do you have a favourite new adult novel?

19 thoughts on “[Chat] Favourite New Adult Books

  1. mudandstars says:

    I just finished reading ‘Smut’ and loved it sooo much – I also finished it in a single sitting. Will definitely check some of these others out – thanks for the recommendations 🙂 I think my favourite new adult books are Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven, and Him by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa @ BookNerdMomo says:

    I’m always looking for new NA recs to add to my TBR! *runs to Goodreads*

    I spy some of my favorites on your list; Smut, Hopeless, and Losing It! However, one of my other all time favorites is On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. I’ve reread it so many times it’s not even funny. 🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ChicNerdReads says:

    Great post! I love New Adult so much. Just like you, I read it between my YA’s and Fantasy’s. Hopeless was my first ever New Adult and it has a very special place in my heart. I also love Clipped Wings by Helena Hunting, Pucked is on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

