[T5W] Books I’ll Never Read

topfive

Top Five Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly meme hosted by Thoughts On Tomes. Each week there is a new theme which you can find on the T5W Goodreads group. This week’s topic is books you’ll never read.

Whether it’s from a series that you have outgrown or don’t wish to continue, or they are popular books that just don’t interest you, let us know what you don’t plan on reading.

I don’t know if I’d never read these books because that’s pretty hard to predict but at the moment, I can’t see myself reading these for one reason or another. Mainly these are books that I picked up because they were hyped but after some reflection, they really aren’t for me.

  1. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller – I’ve actually tried to read this a few times and I always thought I wasn’t in the mood for it but as it turns out, it’s just not for me.
  2. Half Bad by Sally Green – This was recommended to me by so many people so when I saw it on sale I of course grabbed it…without reading the synopsis. At one point this would’ve been my perfect read but I’m slowly growing out of the YA fantasy genre; Maas and Schwab are exempt.
  3. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han – I’ve really been struggling with high school tropes these days and given I’ve just unhauled the first 2 books in the series, I don’t see myself picking these up at all.
  4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – I only grabbed this because everyone was losing their shit about it but I can’t guys, I just can’t.
  5. World War Z by Max Brooks – Another recommendation that didn’t pan out. I did enjoy the movie which is another reason I grabbed the book, too bad I didn’t think about the fact I don’t want to read about zombies.

What book is on your list?

8 thoughts on “[T5W] Books I’ll Never Read

  1. Michael J. Miller says:

    I’m with you on ‘Catch-22.’ I know it’s a classic but it just seemed to drag on FOREVER when I read it and I had trouble investing in the characters. I did finish it but it was a chore to do so. In my mind, I think it would’ve worked really well as a short story. But I found myself struggling through the novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      I think it is one of those books I wanted to read because people rave about it and I love finding out for myself why a classic is in fact a classic. Usually they end up being not my cuppa tea though

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

