Quick Fire Reviews: NetGalley

TRAVEL (6)

All of these books were received for free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Is it obvious yet that I’ve been terrible at reviewing my NetGalley books?

If you haven’t read the other rounds, my quick fire reviews are for books I read but don’t enjoy enough to write a complete review. Let’s not drag this out any longer, today’s books up for review are:

  • The Hawkweed Prophecy by Irena Brignull
  • Extinction Of All Children by L. J. Epps
  • The Girl From The Sea by Shalini Boland
  • Finding Salvation by Elizabeth Hayes and Ashlee Taylor

Be sure to click on the images to be taken to the Goodreads page of that book.

25189584

2.5/3 out of 5 stars

I wanted to love this so much more than I did. I thought the writing in itself was pretty addictive but for whatever reason, I struggled to find some real consistency in the plot which made the whole experience a little jarring for me. The characters were fairly well developed and there was this great dark undertone to the story, but the plot felt a little cliche and it was hard for me to find any stand out moments. I do think this book has an audience and while it wasn’t for me, it has had some great reviews on Goodreads so do check those out.

30369257

2 out of 5 stars

The synopsis for this is really cool but unfortunately this didn’t pan out for me. I thought Epps had a great writing style but I think it the story was underserved by the lack of character development and the choppy plot. As such I couldn’t help but feel that the book was anti-climactic. So much potential but no pay off for me.

30333569

3.5 out of 5 stars

Look at how glorious this cover is. Die. As far as thrillers go, this was pretty good. I thought Boland did a great job of weaving some mystery into the story and developing some great characters, flaws and all. In saying that, I did get a little annoyed at the narrator at times but that is just a minor thing that probably had more to do with me than the book itself.  It was fun getting to piece the story together and there were some good twists and turns scattered throughout however I thought the book was just missing a little oomph to push it up into that 4 star range.

29544984

3.5 out of 5 stars

This is book one in a series. People on Goodreads are loooooooooving this book and while I enjoyed the ride, I don’t think i’ll go back for more. The characters in this are complex and well developed but they got on my nerves for some unknown reason. Charlotte and Madison share this great bond despite their polarising personalities and they find themselves in some sticky situations throughout. There is a drug addiction storyline that plagues this world and I thought it was used perfectly to give some added depth to the story. The more I write about this, the more I think I may actually give it another go. Conflicted emotions guys.

6 thoughts on “Quick Fire Reviews: NetGalley

Leave a Reply

