Unpopular Opinions Tag

TRAVEL (2)

I saw this completed over on Adventures Between Pages blog and just had to snatch it up for myself because it looked so fun. There are no set rules and I’m going to be straight up note that I won’t be tagging anyone to do this because I’ve got so many posts to catch up on. If you don’t want to do this though, consider yourself tagged.

Let’s go!

Sorry if I pick out books or authors you love. Just because they aren’t for me, doesn’t mean they are horrible choices for other people to enjoy.

1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like?

If I Stay by Gayle Forman. No. This tried to pull at my emotional triggers but I found the characters to be too annoying to make me feel anything for Mia and her shitty situation.

2. A popular book or series that everyone else seemed to hate but you loved?

Everyone seemed to love those Anna and the French Kissed books but I could only make it through Lola and the Boy Next Door. I attempted all of the others and basically fell flat on my face.

3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did not want them to end up with or an OTP that you didn’t like?

How interesting, I’m drawing a major blank. I don’t think I have one which is surprising given how many cringe worthy books full of romance I’ve read over the years.

4. A popular book genre that you hardly reach for?

Historical fiction. I just can’t. There are so many books that people rave about in this genre that have the most beautiful covers but I know as soon as I pick it up I will be bored to death. It takes an exceptional writer to keep me hooked on these type of stories.

5. A popular or beloved character you don’t like? 

I’m going to say it guys, I did not like Peeta from The Hunger Games. Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy with the way his story wrapped up, but I didn’t care for him at all. Would still give Josh Hutcherson a nudge though if he was older.

6. A popular author that you can’t stand?

Rick Yancey. I’ve tried on many occasions to get into the 5th Wave series but I just find his writing bland.

7. A popular book trope you are tired of seeing? (Ex: lost princess, corrupt ruler…)

The prophecy. I don’t know if I’m tired of seeing it or if the last few I’ve read haven’t lived up to the hype, but I’m not sure if I can handle another cliched cliffhanger where the person who is supposed to fulfill a prophecy is caught in a bind. Can’t someone else just do it.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading?

The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. I actually did buy a few of the books on the cheap to begin reading them and then I actually opened the first book…I’m just going to say that I unhauled them all pretty quickly.

9. The saying goes, “the book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or tv show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

The 5th Wave. I really enjoyed this movie and would choose it over the book every time.

So, what is a book you disliked but everyone else loved?

15 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

    • mrenee says:

      Oh I love Me Before You but I can see how easy it would be not to enjoy it – I think I just picked it up at the wrong time.

      I never knew so many people disliked Peeta. I don’t feel so bad now haha

      Like

  1. Shouni says:

    I’m also not a huge fan of If I Stay but I do love the sequel. I thought Anna and the French Kiss was okay but not worthy of the hype it gets. I completely agree on Vampire Academy, I don’t have any interest in reading another vampire romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wordsandotherbeasts says:

    I actually agreed with a fair few of these haha! I thought If I Stay was alright, it was certainly emotional, but I didn’t like the characters either, they were all pretty annoying like you said. I also wasn’t a massive fan of Peeta, I’m not sure why, I always preferred Gale even if he did screw up in the end. And I’ve never been interested in the Vampire Academy series either, my obsession with the vampire phase of books ended aaaaages ago so I’ll probably never even try it, even though some people rave about it. And I recently read Mead’s novel Soundless and it was pretty awful, so that puts me off her other stuff even more. Great answers!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lara says:

    You got question 2 wrong 😛 a popular series everyone hated but you love, not one everyone loves and you hated. I feel you though Anna and The French Kiss definitely the awesome book in that series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

