Anonymous Bookaholic Tag

TRAVEL (2)

I was tagged by the wonderful Donna over at Chocolate n Waffles to do this tag. If you haven’t been on her blog yet then what are you even doing? Seriously check it out because her blog is as lovely as her.

Now, let’s get to it!

What do you like about buying new books?

I’m going to have to copy Donna’s answer for this and go with the hunt too. There is something so soothing and satisfying about finding a book that you are excited to read (and add to your shelf). I also really like being able to have a few options to suit my mood.

How often do you buy new books?

I only buy books when there is something I’m excited to read. If I want to check something out but I haven’t heard much about it or I’m not sure if I’m going to like it enough, I will check it out from the library.

Bookstore or online book shopping – Which do you prefer?

I love going to bookstores and browsing but given how expensive bookstores tend to be I am a frequent online shopper. Book depository is my go-to for new books, Fishpond smartsell is my go-to for secondhand books and Amazon is my Kindle go-to.

Do you have a favorite bookshop?

My all time favourite bookstore was one I visited frequently when I was at uni. It is a secondhand bookstore called Scribes in Dunedin and it has stacks and stacks of books on the shelves, on the floor and on any available table surface. The guy that worked there while I was around was an older man who used to make us cups of tea whenever we popped in. I could get lost in there for hours.

Do you pre-order books?

I usually pre-order ebooks for series I’ve been obsessed with but the only physical book I’ve ever pre-ordered was The Cursed Child. The only problem with pre-ordering online, at least for me, is that the books don’t arrive for a few weeks and then it defeats the purpose.

Do you have a monthly book buying limit?

No, I just pick up books when and if I want to. Usually if I have to limit myself it isn’t because of a self-imposed ban, it’s because my bank balance disappears too quickly and I’m living that broke life.

Book buying bans – Are they something for you?

I never try and put myself on a ban because then I feel guilty when I break it.

How big is your wishlist?

How many books exist because it is slightly smaller than that. My wishlist contains:

  • books I’ve heard about in passing
  • books I’m excited to read
  • books with cool covers
  • books I own in paperback but want is hardback (but why?)
  • books I’ve read and loved but I don’t own yet

Which three books from your wishlist do you wish to own NOW?

Oh gosh, could there be a harder question? Haha. These are in my Book Depository wishlist at the moment so I’m going to be picking them up soon.

My nominees:

 

 

8 thoughts on “Anonymous Bookaholic Tag

Leave a Reply

