[Chat] Ditching the TBR…For Now

TRAVEL (3)

I know you all sit around refreshing my blog waiting for my TBR to pop up because it is the highlight of your month (lol) but I’ve decided I’m not going to be doing them anymore. At least not for a little while.

I started putting my TBRs together to help me keep track of all the books I wanted to read in a given month. It was supposed to be useful and at first I was pretty carefree with them, but over the last two months I’ve found them more stressful than anything else.

I’ve been quite sick with the flu this month and my reading has taken a massive hit but instead of just being happy with what I have read, I’ve been fretting about how much time is left in the month and how many books I have left to complete my September TBR.Β This is not healthy for me or for my love of reading.

Why I’m letting go:

  1. Mood – Sometimes at the end of the month when I pick my books I am in a particular mood so my choices reflect that. Then I might catch a romance movie and realise I only want to read love stories but there are none on my TBR or something gets released that everyone is losing their shit over and I get fomo so have to pick it up. So many things happen in a month that end up in me ditching part of my TBR.
  2. Guilt – I’m tired of making myself feel guilty for not completely my TBR month after month. What is so bad about just reading what you want to read when you want to read it? Nothing, that’s what.
  3. Time – Seriously, like WTF?! Where has 2016 gone to? The months just keep getting away from me and there are just too many books I want to devour but it seems like no time to do so.
  4. Life – I work full time and have busy weekends and sometimes I just don’t get a second to sit down and read. This bitch is tired by time I get home soΒ reading just isn’t an option at night. I miss my uni days when I had so much spare time to just read. Sigh.
  5. No! – Sometimes the books I pick are great and sometimes they just straight up suck. There is nothing worse than falling in to a reading slump after a bad book when you are so dedicated to your TBR.

So there are definitely some pros to having a TBR but lately I’ve just been finding a lot of negatives. I’ll still do a mini monthly wrap up because they are handy refreshers for me but I’m excited to remove that unnecessary pressure from my life.

I’d love to know what your thoughts are on TBRs. Do you find them useful?

21 thoughts on “[Chat] Ditching the TBR…For Now

  1. MorganPaige says:

    I have totally gotten to this point before, and especially with all the holidays coming up I can’t imagine how I’m going to tackle my TBR in the next couple of months. Like you, I’d also feel guilty if I didn’t finish my monthly list, but within the last couple months I’ve kinda come to terms with the posts acting as “inclusive” posts rather than “commitment” type posts. They act more as a way to get involved with the reading community rather than a “I have to get this done STAT” kind of post. But I think taking a break after getting sick is totally necessary! Heal up and do what relaxes you πŸ™‚ Reading shouldn’t be for other people, just do it for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads says:

    I like putting together a TBR, but I don’t really feel pressured to stick to it. It’s more of a “this is a general idea of what I might read” rather than “these are the books I’m reading this month” type of thing. That way if something comes up and I can’t get much reading done or if I shift moods and want to read something totally different from my normal reads, I can without feeling guilty. I started doing monthly TBRs with that goal in mind because I knew that if I used it as a strict list of what I had to read that month, it would totally stress me out and make me not want to read at all. So I totally get where you’re coming from. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. ChicNerdReads says:

    When I was doing booktube, I used to do TBRs but then I realized that it was too much pressure on myself and I wasn’t really enjoying the books because I’m a total mood reader. Reading is for fun, it shouldn’t feel like another job. So do what you feel. I completely understand all your points.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. sophiethestark says:

    Totally agree with your post! I rarely have a TBR for a specific month… I just have a bunch of books that I eventually want to read, and sometimes I pick one of them. And sometimes I don’t. The worst part is never being able to decide which book I’ll be reading next… But at the same time it’s very freeing.
    I’m so far behind on my Goodreads challenge but I try not to feel bad about it. After all, I should be reading books for fun, not out of obligation. Sometimes I just want to watch TV or play videogames or go out with friends. And before I know it, one week has gone by without reading a single page.
    I hope you get better and find your inspiration to read again! πŸ™‚ You definitely shouldn’t be pressuring yourself, especially with something that should be done for fun.

    Like

    • mrenee says:

      Thanks so much! It’s always a shock when you realise you’ve taken something you love away from yourself. I’m having a pretty cruisy month at the moment so I’m glad I’ve removed that added pressure. It’s also helpful that lovely people like yourself have been offering up such kind words πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Michael J. Miller says:

    AMEN! I couldn’t have said it better myself. I get excited over a stack of books that I want to devour but I’ve always been one to let the mood of the moment pull me to what I want to read next. So I’m with you! Good luck in your counter-cultural approach to book reading and book blogging :).

    Like

  6. doddyaboutbooks says:

    I wholeheartedly agree. I have a TBR but no rules around it. I boggle at people whose TBR is set in stone. Like you, I work full time and that can include long hours and some weekend work. Reading is how I wind down. Guilt and stress shouldn’t stem from you hobbies. 😊

    Like

    • mrenee says:

      πŸ™‚ I used to be someone who didn’t understand how people were so strict with their TBR either…until I became one of those people haha. I’m glad you love reading as your down time, it is such a good way to spend a few hours when you have nothing else to do (or you are avoiding housework lol).

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    I hope you start feeling better soon! Honestly, my mood changes about my TBR. Sometimes I like it because it makes me feel organized lol… Other times I feel like I’m putting pressure on myself because most of the time, I end up wanting to read something else instead. I’ll usually set a monthly TBR just to give myself an idea of the month, but it always changes. Because my mood changes.

    Like

  8. Angie says:

    I’m a mood reader so I rarely put up a TBR for the month.. I want to say that “these are the books I will read this month” but it never worked for me, lol.😁

    I just read what I want, haha. Reading is a relaxing/soothing/enjoyable passion for me, so pressure has no space on my sacred reading time..😸

    Just go read what you like.πŸ‘

    Like

  9. shansbookshelf says:

    I totally agree with you. I do TBRs but for the life of me I never stick to them. I do even mean not to, it’s just like l overestimate what I can read in a month and put on soooo many books. Then life gets in the way and other books catch my eye so I never end up finishing the books on my TBRπŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ishita says:

    I have a dozen books.. But don’t really stick to any order… My immediate “preference” is usually one from the giveaways that I have won … Because I feel guilty about hoarding them 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I definitely relate to this post a lot! I sorta have a rough idea of what books I want to get to soon, it’s more of a loose guide though – there’s no way I could do a strict TBR. I’m way too much of a mood reader. I feel like forcing yourself to read certain books can really put you in reading slumps too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Reading slumps are the worst! Haha it is so hard to be a mood reader. I sometimes wish I was someone who could pick up anything and just read but I’d hate to think of how many bookshelves I would need if I was like that lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

