[Chat] Book Subscription Boxes

TRAVEL (3)

Subscription boxes. Have these been around for a while? I didn’t know these existed until last year when Owlcrate started popping up all over booktube and being a lover of books and cute bookish things, I of course had to look into it. Cut to me sitting on my laptop one night refreshing Owlcrate’s site waiting to get a last minute spot. After my first box, I was hooked on the whole thing and I haven’t looked back since.

I thought it would be cool to have a quick chat about subscription boxes because I don’t personally know too many people who get them so would love to hear your thoughts.

What I love:

  • Getting mail – No joke, it is one of the highlights of my month getting one of these boxes. Is that sad? I don’t tend to spend too much money on myself so the fact that I can organise this and have it be a little present to myself every month.
  • The themes – My favourite thing about these boxes are the themes. I love that the book is a surprise and am not ashamed to admit that I take joy in trying to guess what the book will be. Sometimes it is easy and I’m right on the mark but there have been a few times where I’ve been completely wrong. It all adds to the enjoyment of unboxing these packages.
  • Books – Of course there are always books you’ve heard of because they are the most anticipated reads, but some of my favourite ones have been YA contemporaries that would’ve otherwise fallen off my radar.
  • Fun bookish goodies – I go through periods of living on Etsy so it is really cool to get to discover some new stores. I’ve received some of the most divine smelling candles, scarves, cool quote jewellery, magnetic bookmarks, notebooks, pens, book cover postcards and more through my subscriptions and almost every box has seen me purchasing at least one additional thing from one of the suppliers.

What I don’t love:

  • $$$$ – Getting these bad boys to New Zealand can be crazy expensive. Most of these boxes are priced between $19.99 – 29.99 which I think is really reasonable considering what you get, but it is those pesky international shipping fees that get you. Chuck in the currency conversion and it can get a little pricey. The only reason I haven’t ditched the whole thing is because I purchase a 3 – 6 month subscription when I have the excess cash and then I don’t have to worry about it for a while.

So who have I tried?

♠ Click on the logos to go to the corresponding website

Owlcrate is based in Canada and was my first subscription box – I think I was with them for a total of 9 or 10 months. I originally started out with a monthly subscription but because they are based in Canada, the changes in the dollar meant some months I was pay well over $80 for a box – I love books, but not that much! I was so in love with their hardcover books and their bookish goodies though that I ended up swapping to a 6 month subscription. One payment up front meant that I was able to bask in their glory month after month.

If you would like to check out their past boxes, click here.

I would’ve stayed with the Owlcrate team but I thought it would be fun to try out another company. Hence my move to the next subscription service.

The YA Chronicles

The YA Chronicles is based in Australia and I currently have a 6 month subscription with my final month being December this year. The YA Chronicles is super budget friendly for me given how cheap delivery is to New Zealand and how little the currency conversion affects the final price. Unlike the books in the other boxes, these are not hardcover versions however the themes and their goodies are some of my faves. I just picked up my September box the weekend just gone and holy shit was I happy!

If you would like to check out their past boxes, click here.

Image result for fairy loot logo

Fairy Loot is based in the UK and is my newest subscription box – I currently have a 3 month subscription with my final month being November this year. I had seen a few of the beautiful Fairy Loot boxes floating around on Instagram so when they offered up a discount code for their 3 month subscriptions back in September, I jumped at the chance to give them a try. I’ve only received the September box to date but it definitely did not disappoint. I’d previously read an e-arc of the book and really enjoyed it so was happy to add a hard copy to my shelf.

If you would like to check out their past boxes, click here.

So now that you’ve survived this long post, I’d love to hear your thoughts on subscription boxes and if relevant, which ones do you subscribe to?

15 thoughts on “[Chat] Book Subscription Boxes

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    I’m fairly new to book subscription boxes having only received one box from FairyLoot so far. They are expensive (and I’m in the UK) but it’s so exciting to receive a box of bookish goodies and the quality is pretty good. I’m currently anxiously awaiting the October box which should be on it’s way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      I’ve already checked out the spoilers for October on Instagram haha. It is interesting to hear that people who live in the same country as the subscription service still find it expensive. I wrongly assumed it would be cheaper.

      Liked by 1 person

      • alilovesbooks says:

        I was staying off Instagram and twitter until it arrived as I knew I wouldn’t be able to resist 🙂

        It is a heck of a lot cheaper than the US boxes (postage and exchange would be killer) but it still feels like a lot of money to spend on myself.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    I like the idea but the thing is living in France make shipping costs a tiny bit too expensive. Also, as I am not sure to enjoy the themes, I don’t feel like spending money on a mystery 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess @ JBelkBooks says:

    I love, love, love bookish subscription boxes, and I REALLY want to try OwlCrate and a few others, but they are also pretty expensive! I’m in the US so I guess I can’t really complain about pricing that much, but I am currently only subscribed to Uppercase Box, and I have to say it’s a pretty good company. However, I would love to venture new ones eventually… 🙂 Great post!!

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

