[Review] Wildflower

25065522

“My lesson here was you do not give up. You hold yourself accountable. You stay grateful. You hold on tight to your friends.”

Quick fire review

I just adore Drew Barrymore – almost as much as I adore this cover.

This is a raw look into Drew Barrymore’s life and I love that she was so open about her struggles and her triumphs. It isn’t written as a story like some autobiographies but rather contains snippets of moments from her life. I loved the narrative style of this book and am a bigger fan of Drew Barrymore after reading this.

synopsis_resize

Wildflower is a portrait of Drew’s life in stories as she looks back on the adventures, challenges, and incredible experiences of her earlier years. It includes tales of living on her own at 14 (and how laundry may have saved her life), getting stuck in a gas station overhang on a cross country road trip, saying goodbye to her father in a way only he could have understood, and many more adventures and lessons that have led her to the successful, happy, and healthy place she is today. It is the first book Drew has written about her life since the age of 14.

review_resize

“I love my life and it takes every step to get to where you are, and if you are happy, then God bless the hard times it took you to get there. No life is without them, so what are yours, and what did you do with the lessons? That is the only way to live.”

I’ve been a long time fan of Drew Barrymore and have been wanting to give this a read for a while now.

This is a mismatch of stories, anecdotes, letters and reflections that I thought perfectly balanced each other out. Before I read this book I checked out a few reviews and there was some mention to the disjointed narrative style. While this seemed to bother some people, I can’t say it is something I noticed too much.

I thought it was very sweet that she wrote letters to her daughters and allowed the reader to have that insight into her life. She is very candid about the relationship she has with her mum, her dogs, her role in Hollywood, her company Flower which she founded with her best friend Nancy (aka Jimmy Fallon’s wife) and the different friendships and relationships she has had over the year.

Everything she reflects on – the good and the bad – is written about with a certain wisdom you can tell she has grown into. There is a lot of raw emotion and loving depth to each chapter and I found the more I read about Drew Barrymore, the more I began to admire her as an actress, as a woman, as a mother, and as a breathing soul.

If you are a fan of her or have ever just wanted a few little insights into her life, there shouldn’t be any reason why you won’t enjoy this book.

“Be authentic. Be yourself. And most important of all..make it personal”

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more reviews on Goodreads.

Buy this book:

Amazon

Book Depository

2 thoughts on “[Review] Wildflower

  1. Lara says:

    I love the cover! I don’t read biographies/ auto-biographies … is that what they are called can’t remember. i used to but lately, I just don’t anymore. Lovely review and the cover is just super sweet, it brings joy to my heart, just looking at it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

