[TIOT] Spooktacular

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new theme and you can participate when and if you choose.

Halloween related freebie: ten scary books, favorite horror novels, non-scary books to get you in the Halloween/fall mood, bookish halloween costumes, scariest covers), scary books on my TBR, etc.

Image result for scary gif

This bastard used to give me nightmares but he will long be up there with my favourite horror villains.

I LOVE HORRORS! When I was a kid, and I do mean a kid, my dad used to sit me down on a Saturday and instead of watching cartoons, we used to watch horror movies. While it might sound like terrible parenting, the whole idea was to help me see that none of it is real. After a few sleepless nights, my dad’s mad theory has worked and I can now sit at home alone, in the dark and marathon horror movie after horror movie. My friends think I am insane but knowing that none of it is real allows me to just enjoy a movie for what it is.

Enough about that though. Below is a mix of my top 10 horror reads and movies.

What is your best horror recommendation?

Books

  1. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
  2. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  3. The Shining by Stephen King
  4. Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill
  5. Cujo by Stephen King

Movies

Special shout out to Wes Craven for creating Freddy Krueger, my all time favourite horror villain. The Nightmare on Elm Street movies have been a favourite of mine since I was about 13 and whether it is the original films or the remake, they are a horror movie marathon staple in my books.

  1. The Conjuring
  2. Ju-On (The original Japanese version of The Grudge)
  3. The Descent
  4. IT
  5. Light’s Out
One thought on “[TIOT] Spooktacular

Leave a Reply

