[Chat] Summer reads

TRAVEL (3)

For anyone who doesn’t know, I live in New Zealand and if this past weekend is anything to go by, summer is fast approaching (thank fuck!).

As such, I thought it would be a great time to jot down a few books I’m looking forward to reading this summer. I know that for many of you, summer may feel like a distant memory by now but if you read anything fantastic over your hotter months, I’d love to hear some recommendations.

Image result for summer gif

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

Summer is the perfect time to pick up cute contemporaries and no one writes them better than Morgan Matson. I’ve read a Matson book every summer for the last few years since I discovered her and this year isn’t going to be any different.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

29845906

It is very simple, this just needs to be consumed. Probably the book I am most excited to pick up this summer.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

23395680

Everyone and their mother has read this book and my fomo levels are off the roof. I’ve tried to pick it up a couple of times over the last few months but just haven’t been in the right mood. I had a flick through yesterday though since Gemina is hitting everyone’s radar and this definitely seems like a book to read on the back deck with a beer in hand.

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

28763485

I was sent a copy of this book from the publisher (best book mail ever!) so will definitely be picking this up ASAP. It also features some diverse characters that I’m really excited to dive into.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices, #1)

So I’ve been meaning to read this ever since it came out. I had previously just finished marathoning The Mortal Instruments series about a week before its release and unfortunately that meant I had exhausted myself of the Shadowhunter world. I’ve heard mixed things but I’m still really interested to see what Emma and her crew are up to in this book.


The below books are ones I have started but have yet to complete. I’m really enjoying these so they are definitely on my list to finish this summer.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (need to finish it)

28260587

I’m a decent way through this but I hit a mass reading slump when I was sick and haven’t been in the mood to pick this up.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover (need to finish it)

27362503

About 100 pages away from finishing this. My heart is heavy but I’m definitely enjoying the journey.

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon (need to finish it)

5364

I will not be defeated by this book. Going to make it my bitch this summer!

 

14 thoughts on “[Chat] Summer reads

    • mrenee says:

      I know what you mean – it’s hard when everyone is speed reading all these amazing books and I’m still trying to dig my way out of my TBR pile haha. Hopefully you get to read a few of them too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    I have a lot of the same books on my TBR. I have just finished The Sun is Also a Star and would definitely recommend as I loved it. I’m afraid I read the first Outlander book and that was enough. They’re just too big for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michael J. Miller says:

    As a teacher who lives in the Northern Hemisphere, I could not be more envious of your entering summer time right now. ENJOY IT!!!! YAY!!! I have no great books to add (although I second your proclamation that you CAN beat ‘Dragonfly In Amber’!) but I’m so happy you get to enjoy some summer time.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anne says:

    Haha, I was like wuuuut, when I read the title of this post!! I’m so glad summer is finally over here, so I can get all snuggly and read. But! When speaking of cute contemporaries, I heard GREAT things of P.S. I Like You by Kasie West. It just looks very summery to me as well. Regarding the second book in the Outlander series, you can do EEEEET!! \รต/

    Liked by 1 person

      • Anne says:

        I can totally understand that as well! I used to hate January and February with a passion. Until my body decided it couldn’t regulate warmer temperatures anymore properly. Asshole. You’re welcome! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

