[Review] Girl Online

22510983I received a copy of this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Quick fire review:

I’m a little late to the Zoella game because I only recently found out who she is (am I old?).

The best way to describe this book for me is candy floss. It is a super sweet read with funny characters and a lot of adventure that at its core is pretty predictable.

I think I might be a little too old to fully appreciate the adventure but if you are looking for stocking fillers for a YA loving teen, then this is the perfect book.

synopsis_resize

I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

review_resize

3 out of 5 stars

The book follows a 15 year old blogger as she documents the ups and downs of her life for the world to see. Full of romance, adventure, heartache, family and personal struggles, Girl Online is a mismatch of all the elements that make a contemporary cheesy and good.

What I respect most about this book is that the author made sure to integrate real life issues into this blogosphere rather than have her be someone who only discusses make up and boys etc. Not that there is anything wrong with those topics, it is just that I thought the discussions around family, death, anxiety, cyberbullying and more gave Penny some great depth.

Penny is a well rounded, adorable character and you can’t help but like her and hope she makes it out of a few sticky situations. I was not a huge fan of Noah or Elliot either but I can certainly see how they fit into the overall arc or the story.

The writing isn’t fantastic but the author has done a great job of keeping the vibe light-hearted enough to keep you reading on and on. I do love a good scene set in New York (one day I will make it there!) and I was really impressed with how vibrant they made the city seem.

If you are looking for a cute contemporary read with lots of fluff, then this will suit you perfectly. For me, it was something I would’ve devoured when I was 14 or 15 but at 27, I’ve just outgrown this kind of story. Nonetheless, don’t let me age be the decider, pick it up for yourself!

While this book might not be for me, I do think there are some tweens/teens who would really love this book and the sequel. If you have a crazy YouTube obsessed, religious Zoella watching teen in your life, pick this up for their Christmas present.

LINKS_RESIZE

Find more on Goodreads.

Check out the sequel Girl Online On Tour Girl Online Going Solo.

Buy this book:

Amazon

Book Depository

Leave a Reply

