[Chat] Resolutions

2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR (12).png

Hope you all had a wonderful festive season and rung in 2017 in style. I personally had a very low key night and just had some friends over for a BBQ, drinks and some games. We raged so hard we were in bed by 12.30 haha.

With the new year comes those promises to yourself that you are going to do better and be better. I don’t usually make resolutions but I thought I might give them a go this year and really open myself up. I’ve only set myself 2 key resolutions that I think are going to help me have a better year and help push myself out of my comfort zone.

What are your resolutions for the year?

HAVE ADVENTURES.png

Saying “yes” to more things is my main resolution. I can be a pretty shy person when I’m first getting to know someone and have a bit of social anxiety when it comes to going places where I don’t know many people, so I have a tendency to become ‘busy’ when someone invites me to something. This year that stops. I really want to open myself up to new opportunities and to do that, I need to start saying yes to more things.

I’m also planning a solo trip to Vietnam for my birthday and possibly a trip to Cuba for Christmas. I’ve done a little bit of travel before but it has also been with a group of friends or with family so I am really excited to give myself over to new adventures.

HAVE ADVENTURES (1).png

Ah, the age old resolution. I think most people have a life goal of being better with money and while I can’t say I am reckless with my paycheck, I could use a little more discipline to help my savings stay on the up. One of my friends posted this on Facebook the other day and I’ve decided to give it a go as a cash only side project to my current savings. They only posted the photo so I haven’t been able to track down the original creator for credit.

It is pretty simple, the $$ amount corresponds with the week of the year i.e. week 1 =$1 and week 12 = $12. Do this successfully for the year and you will be left with a nice sum come December 31st.

52 Week Money Challenge Chart.jpg

Goodreads 2017 Challenge

On top of my resolutions, I am also taking on the Goodreads challenge this year.

How many books are you hoping to read in 2017?

2017 Reading Challenge

Monique has
read 0 books toward
her goal of
20 books.
hide
7 thoughts on “[Chat] Resolutions

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    Great goals. I too usually set myself the goal of saying yes to more and putting myself out there as I have a tendency to hide (this would be how I managed to read so many books last year).

    Well done you as well for travelling solo. I’m at that age unfortunately where if I want to go somewhere I usually have to go it alone (most of my friends are married with families) so I know it’s a scary prospect. I have to admit I’ve stuck to horse riding holidays as there are usually others travelling alone who have a common interest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Solo travel is where it is at. My friends are in the marriage/baby zone too so it is just easier. I just took the plunge and booked myself a trip to Canada (eeek!) so am now poor but excited to travel lol.

      Hopefully you get everything you want out of 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

