[Chat] Series that got worse

2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR (9).png

I was recently doing a little unhaul of books and noticed I was giving away quite a few series that I had enjoyed in the beginning, but for whatever reason I felt had gotten progressively worse as the books went on. So that got me thinking, what series did you love in the beginning but were really disappointed by in the end?

As always these are just my opinions so if you loved these or have these books on your radar, don’t let me put you off. I’ve narrowed this down to the top 5 that I really loved in the beginning but felt like they lost momentum as the books went on.

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

I was 1000% into this when I first started it. The main character was sassy and the whole book had this weird supernatural/Southern charm that had me hooked. Unfortunately about half way through book two I began to realise that this really didn’t need to be a series. Maybe it was just me but the circumstances started to feel a little forced and while the characters were still hilarious and well developed, I did find myself caring less and less about them. The third book ended up being a DNF for me.

Legend by Marie Lu

I don’t even think I ended up finishing Champion in the end but I certainly remember skipping to the last few pages to see how it wrapped up and being a little disappointed. I loved Legend and at the time it was one of my favourite reads of the year, so I quickly snapped up and devoured Prodigy. Needless to say I was excited to dive into the final book but about 3 or 4 chapters in the spark was lost. This is another case where I personally felt a duology would’ve summed up these characters and this world perfectly. Overall still a great series but I definitely felt the ball dropped right at the end.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

I’m not going to say too much about this because it is still one of my all-time favourite series but let’s be honest, the last book was a cluster-fuck of no.

Elixir by Hilary Duff

This is another example of when a series should be a duology rather than a trilogy. There is a sort of past life element to this story that amplifies the relationship between Clea and Sage and creates a deeply soulful romance. At its core, this is a love story through and through. The third book was much slower and after the devastating events at the end of book two, this story didn’t have a choice but to take a strange turn. The ending is romantic but I’m still not sure if I think it is a happy ending.

Syrena by Anna Banks

I was drawn hook, line and sinker into this story and this strange yet fascinating underwater world. Emma and Galen have this intense chemistry which is very off putting in the beginning however once their connection and Emma’s knack for talking to fish is explained, all the pieces of why these two matter fall into place. The pacing was a little slower in book three but I wouldn’t say I noticed myself getting bored. We do get a happy ending and while I will say that I did enjoy the ride, I think these characters would’ve been better put to rest after book two.

Let me know below which series you felt got worse.

5 thoughts on “[Chat] Series that got worse

  1. Shouni says:

    Oo, I didn’t even know Rebel Belle was a series 😀 . Seems like I didn’t miss out on too much though. I agree on Maze Runner, that last book wasn’t the best but I do like the series overall. I loved the Legend trilogy though, Champion was my least favorite out of the three but I still loved it (minus the ending).

    The Divergent series definitely kept getting worse for me, Allegiant was probably one of the worse books I’ve read. The Maximum Ride series and the I Am Number Four series also kept getting worse and worse until I stopped reading.

    Like

  2. Lynn says:

    Omg I have so much to say about The Maze Runner series. I cannot stand it. I don’t want to bash one of your favorites to you but I was incredibly disappointed with the direction the story went. I liked the first book enough to keep reading, but after that, no. Still watching the movies tho! They’ve already made some interesting changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      It is all good to have your own opinion – it would be boring if we all liked the same things all the time 🙂 Yeah the movies have definitely taken a change but I’m still into them too

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thecloudrunner says:

    The Delirium trilogy is another series that got worse. The first two books were amazing. Loved them! but book three was just a solid NO for me. Some of the characters attitudes made a drastic change and there were soooo many things left unanswered! It almost felt like the author was in a hurry to meet a deadline so she just threw a story together for the sake of simply writing. Ugh. I would recommend the first two books but the second book leaves off on such a cliff hanger that you feel compelled to read book three only for it to suck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Oh no! There is nothing more frustrating when a final book in a series you love is rushed and lacks all the things that got you hooked in the first place. I may have to look into the series though if the first two are so good! Thanks for the rec 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

