[Tag] Try A Chapter

TRAVEL (2)

I saw this tag over on Young At Heart’s blog and thought it looked like a lot of fun. Be sure to head over and give Alex a follow.for great reviews and fun bookish chats.

This tag was created by BookParadise on Youtube.

RULES:

  • Pick 5 (or more) books from your tbr
  • Read the first chapter of all of them (including the prologue if there is one)
  • Tell your readers if you’re sold on the book and what you thought of the first chapter.
  • Are you going to finish the book this month?

Like Alex, I’ve chosen books currently gathering dust on my shelf. I have quite a few books to get through this month so I definitely won’t be getting to them soon but after reading the first chapters, I will most certainly be diving in as soon as I can.

Click the cover of each book to head over to the Goodreads page.

Comment below if you’ve read any of these books because I’d love your opinions on if I should continue.

21969786

A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies. Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive.

How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place?

As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?

Damn, that prologue got me before I even hit chapter one. Not surprisingly the writing in this has already drawn me in. There is something about the way Patrick Ness writes that helps me devour his books once I get going. I am so intrigued by this boy and what is happening to him that I may just try and sneak this into my reading list this month. I NEED ALL THE ANSWERS NOW!


27414431

Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee his grasp. She escapes across enemy lines into the kingdom of Theoria, but her plans to hide are thwarted when she is captured and placed in the young king’s servitude.

Girl looks so badass on this cover, but so far in chapter one Princess Sepora is set up to be a bit of a coward. I am quite intrigued by Sepora and I feel like she is going to take a drastic turn part way through this book. Really descriptive writing, great tone and the atmosphere already feels a little tense. This sounds really interesting already but I think is more of a mood read for me so it will probably have to wait. Can’t wait to see what happens.


1523438

Ever since he can remember, Animal has gone on all fours, the catastrophic result of what happened on That Night when, thanks to an American chemical company, the Apocalypse visited his slum. Now not quite twenty, he leads a hand-to-mouth existence with his dog Jara and a crazy old nun called Ma Franci, and spends his nights fantasising about Nisha, the daughter of a local musician, and wondering what it must be like to get laid.

The first chapter is a page and a half so not much to grasp but based on the tone alone, I think this is going to be a mix of funny, sad and philosophical. I’m very intrigued by the line “I used to be human once…” and the fact that the main character is named Animal. I was given this by a friend and she said it is heartwarming and an overall great read so I’m hoping the story holds together.


22466429

Victor Benucci and Madeline Falco have a story to tell.
It begins with the death of Vic’s father.
It ends with the murder of Mad’s uncle.
The Hackensack Police Department would very much like to hear it.
But in order to tell their story, Vic and Mad must focus on all the chapters in between.

I love this cover and I want to frame it and put it on my wall. I have yet to read Mosquitoland by this author but I have heard some amazing things about his writing. From what I’ve read so far, this looks like it is going to be a fun and mysterious ride. I’m already on board with the characters and all the quirky moments I’m sure are yet to come.


19486412

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

I’ve been wanting to read this since I found out it was going to be a show. The first chapter didn’t quite grab my attention until right at the end so I’m guessing this really gets into it going forward. I’m still looking forward to diving in but given it is a mystery I’m going to have to wait until I am in the right mood.

7 thoughts on “[Tag] Try A Chapter

  1. Alex @ Young At Heart Books says:

    I’m glad you did this tag!! I thought it was a lot of fun 😊 you should definitely read More Than This, I loved it! It’s such a quick read because you NEED answers. I also want to read Big Little Lies but mostly because of the TV series haha. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

