[T10T] Read In One Sitting

topten

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature by the wonderful The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new theme and you can participate when and if you choose.

Read In One Sitting Theme: ten of the shortest books I’ve read, top ten books I read in one sitting, ten books to read when you are short on time, top ten books that will make you read the whole day away, etc.

This week I will being listing the top ten books I read in one sitting because there is nothing I love more than when someone recommends books that they devoured.

Let me know in the comments below if you’ve read any of these books and what your favourite one sit read is.

One Day  – Since the day I picked up (and devoured) One Day it has been my favourite romance novel. The concept is simple, the characters are beautifully crafted and the love story resonates in my soul. Filled with humour, love, friendship and heartbreaking moments, this is what I would call the perfect contemporary.

The Roanoke Girls – I was hooked on this from the very first page. There is something about Engel’s writing that draws me in to her twisted little worlds. The characters in this are interesting, the twists are heartbreaking and the mystery has you internally screaming WTF as every new detail emerges.

The Legend of the Wandering King – I picked up a hardback copy of this book from a yearly charity book sale because I thought the cover was beautiful – little did I know that the story inside would transcend everything. I think this may be one of the best purchases I’ve ever made. The redemption story didn’t feel trying or overdone and Walid’s journey was absolutely beautiful. Reading about Hammad’s sincerity despite his circumstance was heartwarming and I loved how his poetry and his work forever changed the way Walid would lead his life.

Everything, Everything – Round of applause for Nicola Yoon, this book was absolutely fantastic! I ended up devouring this in one sitting because every page was as delicious as the last. The last part of this book is everything.

Learning Not to Drown – This is a sad story about a family dealing with the actions of their eldest son; namely the relationship between the son and the youngest daughter. This explores the depths of unconditional love, the actions we overlook and the flow on effect of an individual’s actions. You can’t help but be drawn into this family and every struggle will pull at your heartstrings.

Holding Up the Universe -I don’t want to overhype this book, but I just want you to know that I think this is fantastic! Jennifer Niven has crafted dynamic characters that will give you all the feels and placed them in a contemporary setting that brings out the best and worst of both Libby and Jack. If you give one book a go this year, make it this one.

The Reluctant Sacrifice – This book starts right in the thick of it and sets the best tone for the rest of the book as everything is go-go-go from the beginning. I felt my heart skip a beat a few times when I thought shit was about to hit the fan because the writing is that captivating.The paranormal overtones were really easy to follow and also just super cool. This was a book I requested off NetGalley and is still to this day one of the best books I’ve picked up off the site.

Everything Leads to You – This story has a lot of soul and is a beautiful tale about a girl named Emi, her tumultuous relationship with her ex-girlfriend, an awesome apartment and a mysterious girl named Ava.  Nina Lacour writes contemporaries that are up there with the best so she has of course weaved a very cute tale together that hooked me from start to finish.

Smut – I ended up reading this in one sitting because I was completely hooked on Blake and Amanda. Their chemistry is off the charts from the beginning – when of course they still hate each other – and the more time they spent together, the more I wanted to keep reading about them.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – There are a lot of YA tropes throughout this book but Chbosky’s writing didn’t make them feel oversaturated. From first love, secret relationships, sibling drama, hidden family secrets, depression, bullying and more, Perks of Being a Wallflower deals with themes that felt real and relatable in one way or another.

2 thoughts on “[T10T] Read In One Sitting

Leave a Reply

