[Tag] This is my genre

TRAVEL (2)

I saw this post over on Quill’s Corner a little while ago and wanted to snap it up. Be sure to head over and follow. This tag was created by Drew @ TheTattooedBookGeek.

The premise is pretty simple: pick a genre and answer six questions about what you enjoy most about that genre. I was too indecisive so ended up picking two.

What are we waiting for? Let’s get started.

 

What is your favorite genre? – Mine is a toss up between contemporary and thriller. I know I don’t seem to review too many thriller books in here but I am hopefully going to change that going forward. I love getting swept up in an investigation as much as I do a love story so for me, the two go hand-in-hand whether they are YA or general fiction.

Who is your favorite author from the genre? – For thriller, I would have to go with Robert Galbraith at the moment. There is something about the way those Cormoran Strike books are written that draw me in hook, line and sinker. For contemporary, it would have to be Jodi Picoult. I am a long time fan of her writing and character arcs so will usually devour one of her books in one sitting.

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back? – I mean, who doesn’t love pretending they are actually solving a crime? It is pretty cool to dive into a book and not know where you are actually going to end up at the end of a story. Sure there are little clues scattered around and for the most part, you end up being able to figure out the plot twist but I just love getting dragged along for a ride. On the flip side, I love contemporaries because I enjoy reading about people. Whether it be family or relationships, contemporary books also have a little something relatable in them to make you fall in love with the characters.

What is the book that started your love for the genre? – For contemporary that is easy, it was The Pact by Jodi Picoult. It was the first book of hers that I read and it was one of the first books that made me care deeply enough for the characters that all I wanted was a happy ending. For thrillers though, I’m almost ashamed to say it was The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. I absolutely devoured that book and it was the first time I remember reading a book where clues made up the premise of the story. After that I moved on to bigger and better books but at the time, it was the one that hooked me first.

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favorite genre to a non-reader or someone looking to start reading that genre, what book would you choose and why? – Quite simply, these are books that I loved. They might not be written brilliantly, but at the end of the day I loved the journey I took with these characters and these authors. I always struggle at narrowing down my lists, so I’ve picked 5 for each genre just incase only 1 sounds interesting to you.

Why do you read? – For so many reasons. I find reading to be not only a great way to kill time, but also a great way to transport myself into different worlds. It is also a wonderful way to meet new people. I have had the chance to talk to so many people about books in my real life as well as online and it really is a great way to bring strangers together.

So, there you go. If you want to do this tag, go right ahead. Be sure to comment below and let me know which genre is your favourite. 

 

Leave a Reply

