[Chat] The year so far

2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR (5).png

How our we already in the second quarter of the year? Need to get my hands on a time turner because this is just nuts.

Now we are in April, I thought I might do a really quick post about a few of my favourite books of the year so far. These are a mix of 2017 new releases and books of old that I’ve either recently discovered or never got around to.

Let me know in the comments which book you’ve loved the most this year.


Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

My review     |     Goodreads

Really recommend this to anyone who loves a good YA fantasy book because it has all the tropes that make those books great; heartbreak, romance, mystery, magic, wonderful characters, drama and brilliant writing.


The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

My review     |     Goodreads

Set in 14th century Russia, this debut novel is a vibrant and beautiful take on Russian folklore. If you are looking to read a great debut with very few flaws, stunning characters and vivid world building, look no further. Recommend to everyone!


The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

My review     |     Goodreads

This is a beautiful, well rounded book populated with delightful characters and stellar writing. The exploration of grief in the teen-aged characters is brilliantly executed and the importance of self is key to the main character’s journey.


Unfiltered by Lily Collins

My review     |     Goodreads

I have been a long time fan of Lily Collins work but I just became a huge fan of this woman’s soul. This is a breathtaking memoir that is perfect for all young women. Wonderfully written and full of relatable stories, Lily Collins truly is unfiltered as she takes us through her ups and downs.


Frostblood by Elly Blake

My review     |     Goodreads

If you are looking for a fast paced adventure with a fiery female lead and an epic fantasy world, then I would definitely suggest giving this a go.  If you find this a bit slow in the beginning, definitely stick with it because you’ll be drawn in to the adventure before you know. I will definitely be picking up book 2 when it is out.


The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel

My review     |     Goodreads

This is not YA but rather Amy Engel’s transition into adult literature. I was hooked on this from the very first page. There is something about Engel’s writing that draws me in to her twisted little worlds. The characters in this are interesting, the twists are heartbreaking and the mystery has you internally screaming WTF as every new detail emerges.


Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My review     |     Goodreads

I ended up devouring this in one sitting because every page was as delicious as the last. The writing in this is beautiful and at times is completely lyrical. Yoon has done a wonderful job of pulling on your heartstrings. The last part of this book was both sad and uplifting. I know some people had a problem with the wrap up but it was personally one of my favourite parts. No spoilers so you will have to check it out for yourself.

3 thoughts on “[Chat] The year so far

  1. Lelia T says:

    My favorite so far this year is An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock by Terry Shames, a prequel in an outstanding rural Texas police procedural series. Another I’ve really enjoyed is a YA Grim Reaper story, Birthright by Jessica Ruddick….”It must be hard to cope when you find out your destiny, your “career” if you will, is all about putting the finger on people for the guy who brings death and, indeed, Ava is understandably resentful. Picking out people to become angels sounds like a good thing but….”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    I haven’t read any of these books yet but I need to check them out. I have heard so much about everything Everything and Roanoke Girls.I hope to read them soon.Great post!

    One of my favourite books so far is When We Danced at the end of the pier by Sandy Taylor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

