[Tag] Bookish Courtship

Copy of 2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR

I saw this tag over on Dreaming of Ink and Paper’s blog and decided to snap it up for myself. There aren’t really any rules, simply answer the questions, so lets get into it.

Phase 1: Initial attraction: a book that you bought because of the cover

17624060

The Golem and the Jinni by Helen Wecker. This is the cover version I have and as soon as I saw it in a book store I snapped it up. I am happy to report that it also is a beautifully written almost fairytale like story.

Phase 2: First impressions: a book that you got because of the summary

26067879

Hmmm, that is a tough one off the top of my head, but I think maybe Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Now technically I watched the movie because of the synopsis and then picked up the book, but it still counts in my mind.

Phase 3: Sweet talk: a book with great writing

1146743

If you’ve spent any time on my blog, you may know that I push this book every chance I get, but that is because I think it may be one of the more poetic books I’ve read.

Phase 4: First date: a first book of a series which made you want to pursue the rest of the series

22055262

This book changed everything. I had heard people rave about Schwab’s writing for quite a while before I picked this up, but once I got a few chapters in I was hooked. After that I had this need to devour each book and I am so thrilled that they have gotten better and better.

Phase 5: Late night phone call: a book that kept you up all night long

18006496

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas. My eyes felt like they might literally fall off buy I couldn’t put it down no matter how hard I tried. More recently however, it was The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel – it was hella addictive.

Phase 6: Always on my mind: a book that you could not stop thinking about

34546137

I only finished this a few days ago and I am still utterly floored at how raw yet spectacular this book is. I know it is being hyped all over book blogs and in international rankings but believe me, it is worth all the praise it is receiving. If you want to see what I thought, check out my review.

Phase 7: Getting physical: a book in which you love the way it feels

18692431

I only read this a month or so ago but I love everything about it. Even the ending. Yeah, it was great.

Phase 8: Meeting the parents: a book you would recommend to your friends and family

Image result for thirteen reasons why book

I remember this book touching my soul when I read it all those years ago and I instantly made my mum and my best friend read it. We all loved it and have no regrets.

Phase 9: Think about the future: a book series that you know you’ll re-read many times in the future 

Related image

I will never not want to read this series. Never.

Phase 10: Share the love: who would you like to tag?

You know the drill. If you’ve done this before or just don’t want to, I won’t hold it against you. Also if you aren’t tagged but you think it looks like fun, absolutely give it a go.

8 thoughts on “[Tag] Bookish Courtship

  1. abookishbelle says:

    I feel the same way about ADSOM! I actually picked it up because I kept seeing really cool pictures on bookstagram of the maps in the book. Obviously, I had to have it! I became obsessed with Schwab’s writing it was so refreshing and the story is just so interesting I loved every minute of it! I’ve literally already reread ACOMAF 4 times, join me in the trashcan I’m pathetic LOL. Thanks for the tag, this is going to be a fun one!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      Hahaha you are the most dedicated ACOMAF fan I have ever met. I love it! ADSOM was so amazing, I can’t even believe how great it was. I would die if the two authors got together and wrote a book. Can you just imagine how amazing that would be?! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    Ooooh, this tag is adorable! I love how it goes through all the steps. Recently, I read the ACOTAR series (I’m still so new to it I don’t even know what to call the series D:), but I literally understand the need to reread it over and over again. I wasn’t too keen on the first, but ACOMAF grabbed my book soul and hasn’t let go. I totally would have picked up The Golem as well with that cover. It’s so pretty! :O You also have a few books on here I’ve been meaning to pick up as well, so I’m excited to see you enjoyed them too. Fantastic post, and thanks so much for the tag! It looks like so much fun! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      🙂 I absolutely agree that ACOTAR is not as good as ACOMAF – the latter is definitely a massive step up and I am hanging out for ACOWAR. Oh I hope you like any of the books you pick up off here! Can’t wait to see your version of the tag.

      Like

Leave a Reply

