[Chat] Bookish Pet Peeves

2017BEST BOOKS SO FAR (18).png

Pet peeves. We all have them. Those little things about our favourite pastime that irk us to no end. They come in many shapes and forms and we all deal with them differently, but there aren’t many things worse than when you’re enjoying a book or series and your bookish pet peeve makes a bold entrance.

Here are 4 of my top pet peeves:

LOVE TRIANGLES (1).png

I mean, is this any surprise? Let me be clear. There are in fact times that I don’t mind a little love triangle because in reality, I do think that you meet people who could be right for you and various times in your life so I do believe you can be torn. What I don’t enjoy is the Dawson-Joey-Pacey bullshit that seems to populate many, many, YA books over the last few years. Throw some instalove shade in the mix and you best hope the story is well written because that book is probably going to be very well acquainted with my floor otherwise.

LOVE TRIANGLES (3)

Ugh. When I say “final chapter”, I don’t mean the literal last chapter in a book but rather the final book in a series. Too often I fall in love with a series, the characters and the world in which they exist only to be left hanging when the final book is released. Sometimes it seems like the author has run out of ideas, sometimes the story seems rushed because they have too many ideas, but all too often they seem to just straight up suck. There are exceptions of course, but it’s the whole “fool me once” thing. Nothing wrong with a duology team, just saying.

Worst ending: The Death Cure by James Dashner

Favourite ending: A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab (still finishing this but expect a rave review)

Is this a pet peeve of yours? Let me know what is your least favourite ending

LOVE TRIANGLES (4)

I’ve never understood why in some books, so many characters have similar sounding names. Not only can it be super confusing in terms of basic narrative structure, but I once found myself rooting for a murderer because I straight up thought he was the victim: Stephan and Stefan. I mean, there isn’t much difference in that at all!

This doesn’t confuse me more than when I’m reading some Russian literature. The first time I read Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, I remember trying to keep track of all the characters because the majority of them ended in sky. Mission and a half.

Anyone else have this issue?

LOVE TRIANGLES (2)

I mean on one hand I get it, but myself and my bookshelf are mad as hell when it happens. Sometimes, if I love a series and the covers get better, I can hear my credit card crying because it knows I’m going to have to update the whole series. It probably isn’t a major pet peeve, but it definitely frustrates me when I go to pick up the next book in a series and the no longer look the same.

Doesn’t anybody care about the aesthetics of my shelves?

So there you go, my pet peeves. Leave a comment letting me know some of yours so we can all share in our bookish pet peeve rage.

11 thoughts on “[Chat] Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Erised Moon says:

    Haha this is a great list! I especially loathe the “shitty final chapter”…I’ve read so many books that start off so incredibly great, and it would seem that I’ve found a new favorite. But then most books just devolve into complete crappiness by the last 25% and IT DRIVES ME NUTS.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bookworm Ink says:

    I am such a shallow book owner. If the cover is ugly (to me) or if it doesn’t go with my current shelf look, I will buy it on my kindle instead. Or if it’s at book outlet I’ll get the physical book and hide it behind other books so it doesn’t show. Lol I am very picky when it comes to getting a place on my shelf. So when covers change, especially if they happen in the MIDDLE of the series, it drives me nuts ! Like the Across The Universe series, had gorgeous covers then the LAST BOOK they made an ugly ass cover change. Really got me going, haha great post !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LairOfBooks says:

    OMYGOSH YESSS! when a series, trilogy, or duology ends terribly it can cause me to completely lose faith in an author. There’s only 1 author that has managed to gain forgiveness from me LOL…Leigh Bardugo THE QUEEN! I strongly disliked the ending to the Grisha Trilogy but LOVED Six of Crow & Crooked Kingdom. As for cover changes…*weeps* I can’t help but go out & buy the new covers all the while giving the publishing houses a mean evil eye lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • mrenee says:

      I was literally just telling someone that I am a Bardugo virgin so am looking at which series to pick up…guess it is Six of Crows 🙂 Haha I love how passionate we all get about cover changes. I also forgot to mention that I hate when the hardbacks have nicer covers than the paperbacks. Hardbacks can be so expensive!

      Liked by 1 person

      • LairOfBooks says:

        Haha! So Six Of Crows takes place in the Grishaverse & there are some that believe you should start in publication order…I am not one of those people lol. LOVED the first 2 books in the Grisha trilogy but that last book flat-lined lol. If you don’t mind then its worth the read but it’s not her best ;( Six of Crows will make a fan out of ANYBODY! haha! that’s funny, i have the reverse issue, I find some paperbacks to be way more easy on the eye than some hardcovers which I mostly buy (coupon queen here lol). For example: Rebel of the Sands…the paperback for book 2 is in MAGENTA! *heart eyes* but of course I have the hardcover book 1 so am I stuck with the less than equal hardback book 2? *sobs* lol

        Like

Leave a Reply

